ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Meet the commentators

ICC Aus cricket world cup warmup

Pat Cummins will lead Australia to take on the world in India

The biggest prize in cricket is up for grabs in the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup, broadcasting from October 5.

Every Australia game and every finals game will be available on Nine and 9Now, with every game of the tournament available on Fox Cricket (Channel 501) and Kayo Sports across the six weeks of One Day International cricket. 

Pat Cummins will lead Australia to take on the world in India. The Aussie squad features batsmen Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stonis and David Warner, and bowlers Josh Hazelwood, Mitchell Starc and spinner Adam Zampa.

Fox Cricket Commentators 

Australian cricketer, Usman Khawaja, will join Fox Cricket’s line-up for a series of analysis shows throughout the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. Khawaja follows in the footsteps of fellow opening batsman David Warner as the most recent addition to the Fox Cricket team. 

Khawaja said: “I love cricket and I love analysing the game. I have always wanted to stay a part of the game when I finish up playing and commentating just seemed the perfect fit.

“I’ve always enjoyed Fox Cricket’s coverage. Fox Sports was the first thing I’d put on in the morning as a kid, so the affiliation with the company was a bit more sentimental for me.

“On top of that, working alongside a world-class commentary team and my mate Dave Warner is something that really excites me and I can’t wait”.

Fox Cricket’s Sydney-based hosting line-up for the World Cup will also include Brendon JulianMark WaughKerry O’Keeffe and Brad Haddin, with live crosses to Michael VaughanRavi ShastriWasim AkramHarsha Bhogle and Ian Smith in India.

See Also: Usman Khawaja to join Fox Cricket commentary team

Nine Commentators

Nine’s commentary team is hosted by Roz Kelly, with expert comments from former Australian captain Mark Taylor.

Ahead of the tournament, Mark Taylor said: “The race to win the 2023 World Cup is wide open, with so many countries genuinely in the running. 

“Australia are right in the mix to win their sixth World Cup title and will improve with the inclusion of Cummins, Starc, Smith and Maxwell from recent lead-up matches. 

“India and Pakistan will be hard to beat in conditions that suit their play, but remember Australia won their first World Cup in India in 1987. The key for us will be settling on the final eleven and finding some consistency in the middle-order batting.

“I also feel that the spin bowling of Zampa and Agar could be pivotal to Australia’s chances.”

ICC World Cup Series Schedule:


To Top