AFL Football Media awards for Caroline Wilson, Brian Taylor and others

Meanwhile The Age won three major categories

Caroline Wilson

Seven AFL commentator Brian Taylor and Seven News reporter Tom Browne were last night honoured at the Australian Football Media Association awards.

Brian Taylor was awarded the Lou Richards Medal for his work on Seven’s AFL coverage in 2017. The medal is awarded to a former or current league footballer working in the media. It recognises all the qualities displayed by Lou throughout his career on and off the field including his personality, humour and ability to talk about the game.

Tom Browne was awarded the AFMA for the Most Outstanding Breaking News Report for his work on the story of Dustin Martin signing his new seven-year contract with the Tigers. The award recognises the art of meeting a deadline on an unfolding story with accuracy and new information.

Meanwhile The Age won three major categories at the Australian Football Media awards on Tuesday night in Melbourne.

Chief football writer Caroline Wilson was judged Most Outstanding Feature Writer, for her interviews with former AFL player Heritier Lumumba, who described his experiences of racism during his career, Port Adelaide coach Ken Hinkley on the death of his best mate, and St Kilda coach Alan Richardson, who recounted his off-season journey to a Himalayan ashram.

Michael Gleeson was recognised as Most Outstanding News Reporter, having broken the news of Jesse Hogan‘s diagnosis with testicular cancer and Alex Fasolo‘s battle with depression.

Photographer Eddie Jim‘s image of a solitary Nathan Buckley in the aftermath of Lou Richards‘ funeral was judged the Most Outstanding News/Feature Photograph.

Fox Sports’ Fox Footy channel took out every TV award.

• The Clinton Grybas Rising Star – Tom Morris
• Most Outstanding Use Of Social Media – Fox Footy – Nat Fyfe 2017
• Most Outstanding Program – Television/Online – On The Couch
• Most Outstanding Special Commentator – Television (Match And Program) – Paul Roos
• Most Outstanding Caller – Television – Anthony Hudson
• Alf Brown Trophy – Gerard Whateley
• Life Member Inductee – Jake Niall

To Top