Everything you need to know about the State of Origin 2023 commentators

State of Origin

Game I starts at 7:00 pm AEST

Australian sporting’s biggest rivals, New South Wales and Queensland are set to clash in State of Origin I on Wednesday, May 31 at 7:00 pm AEST. 

Some of the biggest names on the Blues squad this year include captain James TedescoJosh Addo-Carr and Tom Trbojevic. 

Queensland welcome fullback Reece Walsh to the Maroons who will be joined by captain Daly Cherry-EvansCameron Munster and Ben Hunt. 

Below are the commentary teams taking on the first State of Origin match of the year.


Nine’s coverage of the game will be hosted by James Bracey and will feature famous names from modern rugby league history including Andrew Johns, Cameron Smith, Johnathan Thurston, Phil Gould, Darren Lockyer, Paul Vautin and Paul Gallen who will be there to dissect every moment. 

Danika Mason will deliver all the breaking news in the lead-up to kick-off, Allana Ferguson will be looking over the key match-ups and Matthew Thompson will be joined in the commentary box by Andrew Johns and Cameron Smith. 


Leading the NSW Blues Radio broadcast team across SEN 1170am and throughout regional NSW will be Joel Caine with former NSW representatives Mark Carroll and Tim Mannah on hand to provide expert insight. 

In Queensland, the game will be broadcasted on SENQ 693 am, SEN Gold Coast 1629 am and throughout regional Queensland. 

Leading the broadcast will be former Queensland representative Andrew McCullough who will be joined by Mat Rogers and broadcaster Drury Forbes. 

2GB & 4BC

Ray Hadley will call the State of Origin for both 2GB in Sydney and 4BC in Brisbane.

ABC Sport

ABC Sport will be calling the game live from Adelaide Oval with Andrew Moore, Luke Lewis, Matthew Elliott and John Gibbs

State of Origin I – New South Wales v Queensland 
Live from Adelaide Oval

Sydney – Coverage starts 7:00 pm (kick off 8:05 pm)
Brisbane – Coverage starts 7:00 pm (kick off 8:05 pm)
Melbourne – Coverage starts 7:00 pm (kick off 8:05 pm)
Adelaide – Coverage starts 6:30 pm (kick off 7:35 pm)
Perth – Coverage starts 5:00 pm (kick off 6:05 pm)

Read more: TV Guide: State of Origin Game I on Nine and 9Now

To Top