Winners of the 11th annual Kennedy Awards announced


The 2022 Kennedy Awards took place last night at the Royal Randwick, with winners announced in 34 categories.

The awards recognise and celebrate the quality of news breaking, storytelling and creativity in the metropolitan and regional media throughout Australia.

Finalists in this year’s awards reflect the high standard of entries and the health of the media industry given the obstacles of digital disruption and pandemic faced over the last two years.

The 2022 Kennedy Journalist of the Year went to Nick McKenzie.

Kennedy Award winners

Awards and winners (bolded):

Lifetime Achievement Award: 
Bruce McAvaney OAM

The Rebecca Wilson Award: Scoop of the Year
Brittany Chain – Unmasking Cleo Smith’s kidnapper – Daily Mail Australia
Stephen Drill and Chris Tinkler – Tim Paine sext saga – The Daily Telegraph, Herald Sun, Courier Mail, Adelaide Advertiser
Taylor Auerbach, Mark Llewellyn, Michael Usher and John Varga – Melissa Caddick: The Vanishing – Network Seven: Spotlight

The Les Kennedy Award: Outstanding Crime Reporting
Dimity Clancey – Jessica’s Justice – A Current Affair, Nine Network
Ivan O’Mahoney, Dan Box, Kate Wild and Selena Shannon- Bloodguilt – The Many Deaths of Richard Dorrough – In Films – Audible Podcast
Mark Morri, Josh Hanrahan, Ben English and Anna Caldwell – The War- The Daily Telegraph

Kennedy Awards

The Daily Telegraph team with editor Ben English (fourth from right)

The Paul Lockyer Award: Regional Broadcast Journalism
ABC North Coast Team Entry – Northern Rivers Floods – ABC North Coast
Bronwyn Herbert and Leah White- Flood Legacy- ABC North Coast
Charlotte King and Andy Burns – Regional neglect: Staff shortages blamed for ‘inexcusable’ spine-deep bedsore – ABC 7:30

The Cliff Neville Award: Outstanding Team Player or Mentor
Brooke Campbell –
Glen Connley – PRIME7 Local News (now 7 News)
Mark Morri – The Daily Telegraph
Petrina Zaphir – Nine Gold Coast News/ Nine Entertainment Co.
Shauna Anderson – Nine Network / 9Honey

Young Journalist of the Year
Angira Bharadwaj – Body of Work – Daily Telegraph
Brittany Chain – Body of Work – Daily Mail Australia
Kamin Gock – Body of Work – ABC

The John Newfong Award: Indigenous Affairs Reporting
Isaac Nowroozi – Water quality in remote NT communities – ABC News Channel, Video on Demand, 7PM & YouTube
Bridget Brennan, Andy Burns and Kirstie Wellauer – The Fight For Fishing Rights – ABC: 7:30
Brooke Fryer, Patrick Forrest, Calire Aird and Sissy Reyes – Vanished: The unsolved cases of First Nations women – SBS: The Feed

The Gary Ticehurst Award: Outstanding News Camera Coverage
James Cannon – Ukraine 2022 Invasion and Russian retreat from Irpin – 7 News Australia
Ryan Grimshaw – Lismore Flood Coverage – Nine News/NBN Network
Simon Hydzik – War in Ukraine – 7NEWS Australia

The Harry Potter Award: Outstanding Television News Reporting
Carrie-Anne Greenback, Jussica Miocevich, Shellie Doyle and Elizabeth Trethowan – The War in Ukraine – Nine Network: 6PM News
Chris Reason – Frontline Ukraine – Seven News
Jerrie Demasi – WA Health Crisis – 9 News Perth

Seven’s Chris Reason

The Mike Willesee Award: Outstanding Nightly Television Current Affairs
Ella Archibald-Binge – The changing face of homelessness – ABC 7:30, ABC Online
Sean Rubinsztein-Dunlop, Echo Hui and Martin – El Hage Smiley Daryl Maguire fraud scandal – ABC 7:30
Steve Marshall – Tiktok Doc – Nine Network: A Current Affair

The David Leckie Award: Outstanding Television Current Affairs (Long Form)
Adele Ferguson and Lauren Day – Cosmetic Cowboys – ABC: Four Corners
Denham Hitchcock, Taylor Auerbach and Mark Llewellyn – Zac Rolfe “The Shooting ” and “The Trial” – Network Seven: Spotlight
Mark Willacy, Stephanie March, Josh Roberston and Kyle Taylor – Ghosts of Timor – ABC: Four Corners

Outstanding Finance Reporting
Joel Tozer and Nick McKenzie – The Fallen Star – 60 Minutes Nine Network
Kate McClymont, Tom Steinfort, Michael Evans, Tracey Hannaford and Dave McMillian – Liar Liar: Melissa Caddick and the Missing Millions – The Sydney Morning Herald /60 Minutes
Max Mason and Jonathan Shapiro – Westpac’s Most Wanted: On the trail of Bill Papas and the alleged $400 million fraud – The Australian Financial Review

Multi award-winning Nick McKenzie

Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting
Adele Ferguson and Joel Tozer – Bad Look – Exposing the dark underbelly of the cosmetic surgery industry – 60 Minutes Nine Network
Amy Bainbridge and Lucy Kent – Cryptocurrency scams target Australians – ABC: 7:30
Elise Potaka, Marc Fennell, Dean Bosche and Patrick Forrest – Cracking Crypto – SBS TV – The Feed

Outstanding Court and Legal Affairs Reporting
Fiona Harari – Beyond Belief – The Weekend Australian Magazine
Paul Ferrell and Alex McDonald – Gladys Berejeklian – ABC 7:30
The Background Briefing Team Entry – Scientists Vs The Law – ABC Background Briefing

Outstanding Reporting on the Environment
Aneeta Bhole and Amy Gunia – Energy Poverty in the Northern Territory – Time Magazine (online/print) + SBS World News (tv, radio, online)
Micheal Slezak, Mark Doman, Laura Kewley, Alex Palmer and Katia Shatoba – VicForests logged illegally and spied on opponent – ABC 7:30
Newcastle Herald Team Entry – Power and Passion – Newcastle Herald

Outstanding Investigative Reporting
Adele Ferguson, Lauren Day and Klaus Toft – Cosmetic Cowboys – ABC: Four Corners and Nine Publications
Anne Connolly, Ali Russell and Stephanie Zillman – State Control – ABC: Four Corners
Sean Rubinsztein-Dunlop and Echo Hui – Gladys Berejiklian corruption scandal – ABC News Digital

Outstanding Political Reporting
ABC’s Hidden Campaign Team- The Hidden Campaign – ABC News
Lucy Cormack and Alex Smith – The Barilaro NYC saga – The Sydney Morning Herald
Tracy Grimshaw – Scott Morrison Interview – Nine Network: A Current Affair

The Tom Krause Award: Outstanding Foreign Correspondent
Ben Lewis – Ukraine Crisis – SBS World News
Daryna Zadvirna – My Ukraine – The West Australian
Tom Steinfort, Sheree Gibson, Laura Sparkes, Luke Wilson, Mathew Brown, Andrew Page and Renee Hudson – The President – Nine Network: 60 Minutes.

Photos: Salty Dingo Media

To Top