Winners announced in the 2021 Queensland Clarion Awards

Clarion Awards

• The Clarion Awards are the pre-eminent state-based awards promoting excellence in the media

The winners of the 2021 Queensland Clarion Awards have been announced at a gala presentation at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday, October 9. 

The Queensland Clarion Awards are the pre-eminent state-based awards promoting excellence in the media. The annual awards celebrate quality journalism, and reward a media professional whose commitment to excellence in media coverage best informs and entertains Queenslanders.

All Media categories

Rural Journalism supported by Rural Press Club
• Jemima Burt, ABC Far North, Queensland Bulletin and YouTube, “Weipa under the thumb of Rio Tinto”

Health Reporting supported by MEAA
• Michael Atkin, ABC News Online and ABC 7.30, “Home Care Desperation – The Long Wait For Help”

Business Journalism supported by MEAA
• Liam Walsh, Jenny Wiggins, Jonathan Shapiro and Hans van Leeuwen, The Australian Financial Review, “Ploughing into Greensill’s Aussie interests”

Commentary, Analysis, Opinion & Critique supported by MEAA
• Peter McCutcheon, ABC News Online, “Queensland election politics”

Sports Journalism supported by QSport
• Rikki-Lee Arnold, QWeekend and, “Tackling the Taboos”

Multicultural Reporting supported by MEAA
• Jessica Rendall, ABC News Online and 7pm TV News, “Migrant Voters”

Social Issues Reporting supported by Independent Education Union
• Leanne Edmistone, QWeekend,The Courier-Mail and, “Just Call Me Dad”

Indigenous Issues Reporting supported by Queensland Council of Unions
• Michael Atkin, ABC 7.30 and ABC News Online, “Abuse Of Power: Sexual Abuse Allegations In Youth Detention”

Broadcast Interview supported by QLD Police Union
• Peter Fegan and Rebeka Powell, Nine News, “Andrew Laming”

Artwork, Cartoon, Illustration or Graphic supported by Media Super
• Lewi Hirvela, iView, ABC Weekend Breakfast and ABC News Channel, “Australian Dinosaurs in 3D”

Innovation supported by Telstra
• Tim Leslie, Simon Elvery, Georgina Piper, Cristen Tilley and Matt Liddy, ABC News Digital, “Why after a century of talking about climate change, now is the time to act”

Three Headings supported by Ten News First
• Renard Peters, The Courier-Mail and Brisbane Sunday Mail, “Sport Courier-Mail”
• Most Outstanding Final Year Journalism Student – Graduating 2021 supported by O’Brien Accountants
• Sarah Richards, ABC Online, “Stories about people with disabilities”

New Journalist of the Year supported by MEAA
• Elise Williams, The Sunday Mail and The Courier-Mail, “Body of Work”

Print/Text categories

Print/Text News Report supported by Nine Queensland
• Emily Toxward, Gold Coast Bulletin and online, “The silicosis crisis that’s killing young stonemasons”

Print/Text Feature Article supported by Local Government Association of Queensland
• Kate Kyriacou, The Sunday-Mail, “You’ve Got Three Minutes to Save My Life”

Radio/Audio categories

Radio News Current Affairs supported by MEAA
• Josh Robertson, ABC AM, “Cover up in aged care”

Radio Documentary and podcast supported by Media Super
• Amanda Gearing and the Guardian team, The Guardian and The Guardian Podcast, “Coercive control laws would have saved their lives”

Photography categories

Best Metropolitan News Photograph supported by MEAA
• Annette Dew, The Courier-Mail, “The Face of the Pandemic – A Daughter Grieves Alone”

Photographic Essay supported by MEAA
• Brian Cassey, The Courier-Mail and The Australian, “Mornington Island – The Queenslanders Left Behind”

Television/Audio Visual categories

TV News Report supported by MEAA
• Peter Fegan and Rebeka Powell, Nine News, “Andrew Laming”

TV Current Affairs, Feature, Documentary or Special Broadcast supported by QLD Police Union
• Rebecca Armstrong, Angela Leonardi, Quentin McDermott and Helen Grasswill, ABC Australian Story, “About a Boy”

The John Bean Memorial Award for Television Camerawork supported by ABC
• Scott Kyle, ABC Television, “730 Christmas Island”

Regional and Community categories

Regional And Community Feature Article or Opinion Piece supported by Serafino Wines
• Joe Hinchcliffe, The Fassifern Guardian & Tribune, “Death of a Saleyard”

Regional And Community News Report – Print/Text supported by MEAA
• Lea Emery, Gold Coast Bulletin, “The human face of domestic violence”

Regional and Community – Broadcast Report supported by MEAA
• Rachel McGhee, ABC News 7PM TV bulletin, “Golden age of drag”

Regional and Community: News Photograph supported by Seven Network (Brisbane)
• Brendan Radke, The Cairns Post, The Courier Mail, The Australian, The Townsville Bulletin, The Gold Coast Bulletin and The Daily Telegraph, “Arrest of a murder suspect”

Major Awards

Investigative Journalism supported by MEAA
• Mark Willacy and Rory Callinan, ABC News Online, “Who Dares Kills”

Journalist of the Year supported by MEAA
• Peter Fegan and Rebeka Powell

Outstanding Contribution supported by The University of QLD
• Ann Lund

To Top