News Corp honours its top journalists in the 2021 News Awards

Sharri Markson news awards

• Winning big on the night was The Australian’s Sharri Markson

News Corp ­Australia’s annual journalism awards ceremony, the 2020 News Awards, was held Wednesday, November 24th. 

Winning big on the night was The Australian’s Sharri Markson, who won the Sir Keith Murdoch Award for her reporting on the origins of Covid-19. Earlier this year, Markson secured the first sit-down interview for an Australian broadcast media outlet with Donald Trump since he was elected president in 2016. As U.S. President, Trump was privy to the top-secret intelligence on Wuhan. In an interview that aired on Sky News, Markson cross-examined Trump about his knowledge of when and how Covid-19 emerged and his claims surrounding the evidence for a lab-leak. 

See More: What Really Happened in Wuhan featuring Donald Trump on Sky News

News Awards 2021 Winners:

Achievements in Campaigns
Call to Arms – National News Network

Achievements in Community Journalism
Jenna Thompson – Grafton Daily Examiner

Achievements in Outstanding Audience Engagement
Operation Ironside (AN0M Files) – National News Network

Achievements in Outstanding Teamwork
Tokyo Olympic team

Achievements in Regional Journalism
Paul Weston – Gold Coast Bulletin

Achievements in Specialist Journalism
Peta Credlin – Sky News, Sunday Herald Sun

Achievements in Sports Journalism
Jessica Halloran, Sharri Markson, Claire Harvey – The Australian

Bill Leak Cartoonist of the Year
Johannes Leak, The Australian

Headline of the Year
Simon Firth – Centre of Production Excellence

Innovation in Journalism
Business Bushfire Recovery –  

Interview of the Year
Pauline Hanson on Vaccines – Tom Connell, Sky News

Keith McDonald Award (Business Journalist of the Year)
John Stensholt – The Australian

Photograph of the Year
Lachie Millard – The Courier-Mail

Photographer of the Year
Alex Coppel – Herald Sun

Scoop of the Year
Samantha Maiden, – Brittany Higgins’ story

Achievements in Storytelling
Sharri Markson – The Australian, Sky News

Young Journalist of the Year
Mitch Clarke – Herald Sun

Lifestyle Brand of the Year

Brand of The Year
The Saturday Courier-Mail and The Sunday Mail

Sir Keith Murdoch Award 
Sharri Markson, The Australian

To Top