Election day media guide: Sky News

Complete coverage from 5am on Sky News Live

Australians will head to the polls this Saturday and Sky News is promising it will deliver the most comprehensive multichannel and multiplatform live coverage and analysis of election 2016.

The channel has detailed its election day schedule:

Sky News political editor David Speers and chief political reporter Kieran Gilbert will spearhead coverage which will feature an unmatched lineup of political insiders and the biggest names on the Australian political landscape. Paul Murray, Peta Credlin, Peter Beattie, Laura Jayes, Peter van Onselen, Kristina Keneally and Peter Reith will offer unprecedented insight this election day as Australia decides and the verdict is revealed.

ALSO: Seven election guide
ALSO: Nine election guide
ALSO: ABC election guide

Sky News election day 2016 begins at 5am on Sky News Live (Channel 601) and continues throughout the day with live coverage as the leaders vote, along with the latest breaking news, commentary and analysis as Australians have their say.

From 7am Kieran Gilbert and his First Edition co-anchor Brooke Corte will lead the morning coverage as both leaders campaign up to the last minute.

Sky News’ nonstop election coverage continues at 4pm anchored by Kieran Gilbert and PVO NewsDayanchor Peter van Onselen.

As the polls close, David Speers will anchor Election 2016: The Verdict from the Sky News Election Centre from 6:00pm AEST. Speers will be joined by a panel of expert guests and Sky News political commentators to help crunch the numbers on election night including Peta Credlin, Michael Kroger, Kristina Keneally, Alan Jones and Bruce Hawker. The panel will also be joined by Attorney-General George Brandis and Shadow Immigration Minister Richard Marles. 

Kieran Gilbert, Laura Jayes, Sky News anchor Patricia Karvelas, Sky News Political Reporters Tom Connell and Dan Bourchier and Sky News anchor Ashleigh Gillon will bring viewers live reports from Liberal, Labor and Green party headquarters throughout the evening.

Coverage will also feature an exclusive Sky News Exit Poll conducted by OmniPoll examining the issues that affected how people voted.

After the dust has settled, a special Election 2016 edition of Paul Murray Live will take a fresh look at what it all means from midnight to 2:00am.

ALSO: Meet the Sky News election team

David Speers, Kieran Gilbert and Laura Jayes will be back on Sunday July 3 from 5:00am to guide us through in Election 2016: The Morning After, followed by Australian Agenda with Peter van Onselen at 8:30am.

At 9:00am David Speers, Kieran Gilbert and Laura Jayes return for Election 2016: The Morning Aftertogether with an expert Sky News lineup including Paul Murray, Kristina Keneally, Peter van Onselen and Chris Kenny to recap the highs and lows of the campaign.

Sunday night’s primetime programming will include special editions of Karvelas with Patricia Karvelas at 7:00pm, Viewpoint with Chris Kenny at 8:00pm and Paul Murray Live with Paul Murray at 9:00pm.

Sky News online will provide unparalleled choices for people to access its premium online coverage with more opportunity to interact with Election 2016 coverage on social media platforms than ever before.

Expert views, breaking news and in-depth analysis from Sky News are available anytime and anywhere at SkyNews.com.au/Election2016.

A live stream of Sky News Live will be made available online at SkyNews.com.au and highlights from the day will be available in a live blog.

Predictions and comments from the expert Sky News political team, including content produced exclusively for social media, will feature across social platforms Sky News Australia (Facebook), @SkyNewsAust, @SkyNewsAusPol and @SkyBusiness.

The international community can watch the Sky News election coverage live and on demand and also access leading Sky News political and opinion programs across five different channels on Australia Channel. To subscribe visit www.australiachannel.com.au and follow Australia Channel at AustChannel (Facebook) and @AustChannel.

*All times are AEST
Photo L-R: Sky News election team Dan Bourchier, Laura Jayes, David Speers, Kieran Gilbert and Tom Connell
Source: Sky News

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top