Chris Hemsworth to be awarded the 2022 AACTA Trailblazer Award

chris hemsworth

Hemsworth will be honoured for his career as well as his contribution to the Australian screen industry

Chris Hemsworth will receive the AACTA Trailblazer Award at tonight’s AACTA Awards.

The AACTA Trailblazer Award highlights the achievements, abilities, and success of an Australian screen practitioner who inspires others in the industry. Hemsworth will be honoured for his career as well as his contribution to the Australian screen industry.

As one of the most famous residents of the NSW Central Coast, Chris Hemsworth has used his position and status to attract global productions to Australia, creating jobs and opportunities for hundreds of local screen practitioners and championing the Australian film industry.

Ahead of receiving the accolade from AACTA president, Russell Crowe, Hemsworth said: “It’s a huge honour to accept the AACTA Trailblazer Award tonight from someone I have always looked up to and who also has paved the way for so many of us overseas.

“The career I have enjoyed up until now has been so rewarding and I don’t take for granted the start the Australian screen industry gave me. I’ll do whatever I can to champion our incredible crews and creatives to the rest of the world and encourage big productions to head down under. I’m looking forward to celebrating this lovely acknowledgement tonight with my family and friends.”

AACTA Awards

On December 5, the AACTA Industry Awards presented by Foxtel Group returned as an in-room event at The Hordern in Sydney’s Entertainment Quarter.

Hosted by Australian industry veteran Rove McManus, the event honoured Australia’s best screen craft practitioners. After a year of Australian projects, Elvis, Mystery Road: Origin, River and Bluey were among the first productions honoured by the Australian Academy.

See also: 2022 AACTA Awards: All the winners of the AACTA Industry Awards

Tonight’s ceremony will be broadcast on 10, at 7.30pm, and will be encored on Fox Docos, Saturday, December 10 at 7:30pm. The broadcast will also be available to stream on demand via 10 Play, Foxtel, Binge and AACTA TV.

To Top