2021 NRMA Kennedy Awards: Full list of winners and nominees

Kennedy Awards

• Samantha Maiden of news.com.au took out the top honour.

The 2021 NRMA Kennedy Awards were held on Thursday, November 11. The Kennedy Prize for Journalist of the Year, the richest in Australian journalism, was fought out by finalists from The Sydney Morning Herald, news.com.au and The Australian/Sky News – with Samantha Maiden of news.com.au ultimately taking out the top honour.

Kennedy Foundation chairman Rocco Fazzari said the field of entrants submitting work from the 2020/21 financial year presented a formidable test for adjudicators in many categories.

“In a really big news year the standard of submissions was exceptional,” Fazzari said.

“The work of our 70 judges was really cut out for them this year and the Kennedy Foundation sincerely thanks them for their dedication and support.”

2021 NRMA Kennedy Awards Winners and Nominees

The Kennedy Prize – Journalist of the Year

Kate McClymont – The Sydney Morning Herald
Sharri Markson – The Australian, Sky News
WINNER Samantha Maiden – news.com.au

Samantha Maiden

Outstanding Crime Reporting

Tara Brown, Gareth Harvey – 60 Minutes, 9
Caro Meldrum-Hanna – ABC TV
WINNER Kyle Taylor, Elise Worthington – Four Corners, ABC TV

Outstanding Regional Broadcast Journalism

Joanna Woodburn – ABC TV
WINNER Liz Hayes, Gareth Harvey – 60 Minutes, 9
Dimity Clancey – A Current Affair, 9

Outstanding Regional Newspaper Journalism

Ashleigh Tullis – The Illawarra Mercury
WINNER Ciara Bastow – The Lithgow Mercury
Elisabeth Champion – Naracoorte Herald

Outstanding Radio Journalism

Mark Willacy – ABC Investigations
Clinton Maynard – 2GB
WINNER Alex Mann, Kevin Nguyen – Background Briefing, ABC

Outstanding Podcast

Camille Bianchi – Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Acast
WINNER Angus Grigg, Lap Phan – The Australian Financial Review
Tom Melville, Laura Corrigan – Australian Community Media

Outstanding Racing Writer

WINNER Damien Ratcliffe – The Age
Chris Roots – The Sydney Morning Herald
Ray Thomas – The Daily Telegraph

Outstanding News Photo

Kevin Nguyen – ABC News
WINNER Louise Kennerley – The Sydney Morning Herald
Brendan Esposito – ABC Online

Outstanding Portrait

WINNER John Appleyard – Wentworth Courier
Dallas Kilponnen – Northern Beaches Review
Louie Douvis – The Sydney Morning Herald

Outstanding Sport Photo

Marina Neil – The Newcastle Herald
Toby Zerna – The Daily Telegraph
WINNER Chris Hyde – Getty Images

Power of the Lens People’s Choice

WINNER Dallas Kilponen

Outstanding Online Video

Jane Thomson – The Sunday Telegraph
Emily Jane Smith, Rihab Charida, Gavin Blyth – SBS
WINNER 7news.com.au

Outstanding Illustration/Cartoon

Christopher Downes – The Hobart Mercury
WINNER Cathy Wilcox – The Sydney Morning Herald
David Rowe – The Australian Financial Review

Outstanding Team Player

WINNER Phil Williams 

Outstanding Sports Reporting

Jessica Halloran, Julian Linden – The Australian, The Daily Telegraph
Quentin McDermott, Greg Hassall – Australian Story
WINNER Peter Badel, Travis Meyn, Robert Craddock – The Courier Mail

Young Journalist of the Year

Kamin Gock – Channel 9 News Perth
Adella Beaini – The Daily Telegraph
WINNER Natassia Chrysanthos – The Sydney Morning Herald

Outstanding Travel Writing

WINNER John Borthwick – The Weekend Australian
Craig Tansley – The Sydney Morning Herald
Katrina Lobley – The Weekend Australian

Outstanding Lifetime Achievement

WINNER John Laws

John Laws

Outstanding Indigenous Affairs Journalism

Karla Grant, Julie Nimmo, Michael Carey – Living Black NITV
WINNER Fiona Harari – The Weekend Australian
Australian Story – ABC

Outstanding TV Camera Work

Glen Ellis -7 News
WINNER Andrew Taylor – ABC
Nicholas Richardson – 9 News

Outstanding TV News Reporting

WINNER Amelia Adams – 9 News
Kieren Gilbert, Andrew Clennell – Sky News
Lorna Knowles – ABC News

Outstanding Nightly Current Affairs

WINNER Sharri Markson – Sky News
Adele Ferguson, Chris Gillett, Matt O’Sullivan – 7.30, ABC-TV
Hannah Sinclair – A Current Affair, 9

Outstanding Long Form Current Affairs

WINNER Peta Credlin – Sky News
Caro Meldrum-Hanna – ABC
Adele Ferguson – ABC

Outstanding Columnist

Samantha Hutchinson, Stephen Brook – The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald
WINNER Wil Swanton – The Australian
Michael Pascoe – The New Daily

Outstanding Finance Reporting

WINNER Michael Roddan – The Australian Financial Review
Anthony Klan – The Klaxon
Adele Ferguson, Kate McClymont, Neil Chenoweth – The Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian Financial Review

Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting

Steve Marshall – A Current Affair, 9
Kevin Nguyen – ABC

Outstanding Online News Breaking

WINNER 9 News Team
Samantha Maiden – news.com.au
7 News Team

Outstanding Court & Legal Affairs Reporting

Winsome Denyer – Australian Story
WINNER Lucy Cormack, Kate McClymont – The Sydney Morning Herald
Amy Bainbridge – ABC

Outstanding Reporting on the Environment

WINNER Andy Park, Alex McDonald – 7.30, ABC-TV
Natasha Mitchell – Radio National, ABC
Diana Plater – Australian Geographic

Scoop of the Year

WINNER Samantha Maiden – news.com.au
Sharri Markson – The Australian
Mark Morri – The Daily Telegraph

Outstanding Investigative Journalism

Sharri Markson – The Australian
WINNER Samantha Maiden – news.com.au
Elise Worthington & Kyle Taylor – Four Corners, ABC-TV

Outstanding Feature Writing

WINNER Kathy Marks – The Weekend Australian
Tracey Shelton – abc.net.au
Mridula Amin – ABC News

Outstanding Political Reporting

Paul Farrell, Alex McDonald, Kirsten Robb – 730, ABC-TV
Chris O’Keefe – 9 News
WINNER Samantha Maiden – news.com.au

Outstanding Foreign Correspondent

Sarah Ferguson – Foreign Correspondent, ABC-TV
WINNER Amelia Adams – 9 News
Jonathan Kearsley, Eryk Bagshaw, Anthony Galloway – 9 News, The Sydney Morning Herald

Top Image: Angus Grigg, Lap Phan from The Australian Financial Review receive the Award for Outstanding Podcast

To Top