SA Media Awards: ABC’s Angelique Donnellan named SA Journalist of the Year

Winners from the 2018 2018 South Australian Media Awards.

The ABC’s Angelique Donnellan was named Journalist of the Year at the presentation of the 2018 South Australian Media Awards at the Adelaide Festival Centre on Saturday night. The awards were announced at the South Australian Media Ball.

Donnellan also won the award for Best TV Broadcaster and shared the awards for Best TV/Video News Report and the All Media – Public Service Journalism award with colleague Nicola Gage for their work on the Oakden scandal and abuse in state care.

Donnellan won again, this time the award for TV/Video Current Affairs or Feature with colleague Sophie Wainwright for “Who is Sally Zou?”.

The legendary footballer and highly respected journalist Merv Agars, who was the Advertiser’s sports editor for more than 20 years, was inducted into the Hall of Fame for his outstanding contribution to journalism. Merv died on August 8, 2017 aged 92.

 SA Media Awards 2018 Winners

All Media – Graphic, Artwork or Cartoon
Ray Hirst: Body of work: News Corp

All Media – Public Service Journalism
Nicola Gage and Angelique Donnellan: Abuse in State Care: Australian Broadcasting Corporation

All Media – Coverage of Sport
Nick Butler: Nick Butler China: Network Ten

All Media –Freelance Contribution
Royce Kurmelovs: Body of work: Various

All Media -Rural/Regional Journalist
Les Pearson Body of work: Plains Producer

All Media – Commentary, Analysis, Opinion & Critique
Daniel Wills: The State: News Limited

All Media – Investigative Journalism
Brad Crouch: RAH stroke deaths scandal: News Corp

All Media – Community Journalist
Rhiannon Elston: Body of work: SBS

Best Three Headlines
Greg Barila: “Mr Xenopom”, “Now you sashimi, now you don’t!” and “All quiet on the question front”: News Corp

Public Relations Campaign (Government or Private)
Victoria Moore: Zipper Kids Score Open Heart Goals: The Press Gallery

Print/Text News or Lifestyle Feature
Penelope Debelle: Michael Abbott: Devil’s Advocate: The Advertiser

Print/Text News Report
Brad Crouch: RAH stroke deaths scandal: News Corp

TV/Video Current Affairs or Feature
Angelique Donnellan and Sophie Wainwright: Who is Sally Zou?: Australian Broadcasting Corporation

TV/Video News or Current Affairs Camera
Tony Salvatore: Body of work: Seven Network

TV /Video News Report
Angelique Donnellan and Nicola Gage: Oakden Scandal: Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Radio/Audio News & Current Affairs or Feature
Caroline Winter: Summer Special: Australia’s Space Race: Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Sport Photograph or Photographic Series
Sarah Reed: Tex Soars: News Corp

Feature Photograph or Photographic Series
Tom Huntley: Body of Work: The Advertiser

News Photograph or Photographic Series
Sarah Reed: Despair: News Corp

Julie Duncan Memorial Award for Student Journalism
Jesse Neill: Body of work: University of South Australia

Max Fatchen Award For Best Young Journalist
Max Burford: Ten Eyewitness News

Best Photographer
Sarah Reed: The Advertiser/Sunday Mail

Best Radio/Audio Broadcaster
Caroline Winter: Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Best TV Broadcaster (Presenter, Reporter, Camera)
Angelique Donnellan: Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Best Print/Text Journalist
Daniel Wills: The Advertiser/Sunday Mail

Hall Of Fame for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism
Merv Agars

2018 SA Journalist of the Year
Angelique Donnellan: Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Top photo: Angelique Donnellan accepts her Journalist Of The Year Award (credit: Samela Harris)

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top