TV Guide: State of Origin Game One on Nine and 9Now

State of Origin

• Game One will be played at Queensland Country Bank Stadium in Townsville

Game One of State of Origin is set to be broadcast live on Nine and 9Now from 7.00pm AEST Wednesday June 9th.

Channel Nine’s broadcast will include the man who has played more Origin matches than anyone in history, Cameron Smith. Arguably the greatest player of all time, Smith makes his official debut with the NRL on Nine commentary team.

This year Townsville’s Queensland Country Bank Stadium plays host to Origin for the first time, giving the Maroons a decided advantage in front of a home crowd, looking to repeat their fortunes after upsetting the fancied NSW side last year.

For coach Freddy Fittler’s NSW Blues, Jarome Luai, will line up alongside his Panthers halves partner, Nathan Cleary. For Paul Green’s Maroons, forward David Fifita is bent on devastation after missing the last series through injury.

All eyes will be on Payne Haas and Tino Fa’ausuamaleaui who are eager for more confrontation after their collisions in Origin 2020.

Comedy duo Roy & HG are back for the series after their starring role last year, with a special presentation ahead of each game. For Game One, they’ll be taking a close look at the advantages that Townsville offers for Queensland, and what effect the high-tackle crackdown might have.

Also, Maroons great Allan ‘Alfie’ Langer will present a special tribute to his old friend and mentor, the late NSW Origin legend Tommy Raudonikis.

To kick off all the action on the field, The Veronicas, ARIA Award-winning pop duo will get the crowd pumping with the pre-game entertainment.

Viewers will have the option to stream the game live on 9Now and also watch four supplementary streams to enhance the action:

Coaches Cam – NSW Coach Brad Fittler and QLD Coach Paul Green
Player Cam – NSW star Nathan Cleary
Player Cam – QLD star Cameron Munster

State of Origin Game 3

1. James Tedesco (Captain)
2. Brian To’o
3. Latrell Mitchell
4. Tom Trbojevic
5. Josh Addo-Carr
6. Jarome Luai
7. Nathan Cleary
8. Daniel Saifiti
9. Damien Cook
10. Jake Trbojevic
11. Cameron Murray
12. Tariq Sims
13. Isaah Yeo
14. Jack Wighton
15. Junior Paulo
16. Payne Haas
17. Liam Martin
18. Apisai Koroisau
19. Campbell Graham

1. Valentine Holmes
2. Xavier Coates
3. Dane Gagai
4. Kurt Capewell
5. Kyle Feldt
6. Cameron Munster
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (Captain)
8. Christian Welch
9. Harry Grant
10. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
11. David Fifita
12. Felise Kaufusi
13. Jai Arrow
14. AJ Brimson
15. Moeaki Fotuaika
16. Joe Ofahengaue
17. Jaydn Su’A
18. Coen Hess
19 Ben Hunt (replaces Reed Mahoney)                                                                                             

State Of Origin Game One – Live from Queensland Country Bank Stadium – Wednesday, June 9

Hosts and commentators: James Bracey, Ray Warren, Cameron Smith, Phil Gould, Paul Vautin, Peter Sterling, Allana Ferguson, Billy Slater, Andrew Johns, Wally Lewis, Darren Lockyer, Paul Gallen, Sam Thaiday, Danika Mason

Sydney: 7.00pm
Brisbane: 7.00pm
Melbourne: 7.00pm 
Adelaide: 7:00pm
Perth: 5.30pm 

To Top