SBS Emerging Writers’ Incubator winners named for 2024

SBS Emerging Writers’ Incubator

The initiative is run in partnership with SBS, Screen Australia, and state screen agencies

Chosen from hundreds of submissions, six screenwriters have been selected for the third year of the SBS Emerging Writers’ Incubator. 

Throughout the year, the screenwriters will each join an Australian production company for a year of paid employment.

The initiative is run in partnership with SBS, Screen Australia, and state screen agencies Screen NSW, Screen Queensland, Screen Tasmania, Screenwest, the South Australian Film Corporation (SAFC) and VicScreen, and with the assistance of the Australian Writers’ Guild.

The SBS Emerging Writers’ Incubator is a nationwide industry initiative supporting the development of under-represented screenwriting talent in Australia. This includes Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people; people who are from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds; people who are Deaf, hard of hearing or with disability; people who are female or gender diverse; people who identify as LGBTQIA+; and people located in regional and remote areas.

The successful writers selected and the production companies they are joining in 2024 are:

• NSW: Siobhan Domingo joins Endemol Shine Australia, supported by Screen NSW
• QLD:  Rhianna Malezer joins Orange Entertainment Co, supported by Screen Queensland
• SA:  Emily Steel joins Kojo Studios, supported by the South Australian Film Corporation
• TAS: Shauna O’Meara joins TAP (Tony Ayres Productions), supported by Screen Tasmania
• VIC: Michael Hudson joins Kindling Pictures, supported by VicScreen
• WA: Lata Periakarpan joins Curio Pictures, supported by Screenwest.

Catherine Kelleher, development executive, SBS Scripted, said: “The Emerging Writers’ Incubator reflects our commitment at SBS to invest, support and elevate new voices and an increasingly inclusive sector. Congratulations to the shortlisted candidates and to the six emerging writers selected for the third year of this initiative. These writers all bring unique perspectives to their work and reflect voices and experiences that are historically under-represented. We’ve seen the benefits that the initiative brings to both the writers involved, and the production companies they join. It is fantastic to be working with our partners as we grow and develop the future of Australian storytelling. We can’t wait to see the impact they’ll have as they continue their careers.”

The following applicants were shortlisted: 

• NSW: Emily Dash, Jacob Melamed and Emma Meyers
• QLD: Annisa Belonogoff, Katrina Irawati Graham and Wendy Mocke
• SA: Alexis West, Stephanie Jaclyn and Jamie Hornsby
• TAS: Chloe Black, Anthea Pritchard and Caitlin Richardson
• VIC: Fury, Holly Tosi and Tim Williams
• WA: Grace Chow and Zac James

The six writers who were selected in last year’s round have undertaken placements around the country during 2022/23, with Becki Bouchier at Sweetshop & Green (supported by VicScreen), Elena Carapetis at Highview Productions (supported by SAFC), Kelli Cross at Easy Tiger (supported by Screenwest), Patrick Hogan at Brindle Films (supported by Screen Territory), Skye Leon at Jungle (supported by Screen NSW), and Aven Yap at Hoodlum Entertainment (supported by Screen Queensland).

Top Image:

Top (L-R): Shauna O’Meara, Siobhan Domingo, Lata Periakarpan
Bottom (L-R) Michael Hudson, Emily Steel, Rhianna Malezer

To Top