TV Guide: Sam Kerr is set to return in the Matilda’s battle against Denmark on Seven and Optus Sport

Matildas FIFA Women's World Cup

The match kicks off at 8:30 pm AEST on Seven and Optus Sport

Sam Kerr has been given the go-ahead to appear in Australia’s match-up against Denmark tonight, with the Matildas set to play for a spot in the quarterfinals of the FIFA Women’s World Cup. The match kicks off at 8:30 pm AEST on Seven and Optus Sport.

While it is unclear if Kerr will play the full game, she is expected to appear at some point as she missed the first two games and sat on the bench for the match against Canada. 

Kerr has missed every game of the World Cup so far due to a calf muscle injury.

“She’s also a player we’ll talk about tonight to see how many minutes would be best suitable and looking at the 90 minutes, potential for extra-time, how to get the best out of Sam Kerr in the game plan”, coach Tony Gustavsson said.

When asked about Kerr’s fitness, Gustavsson said:

“We had a nice moment as a team yesterday to see her back with the boots on and touching the ball and be with the team in training.

“It was a very good feeling for her and a very good feeling for the players and the teammates and a very good feeling for me. Today she was off feet – it’s all an individual plan for her in training, I trust my [medical] team 100% to prepare her as best as possible.”

If the Matildas win tonight, they could potentially be up against France in the quarterfinals before a possible clash with England in the semi-finals.

Denmark has had one loss and two wins so far in the World Cup:

• Denmark vs China: Denmark won, 1-0
• Denmark vs England: Denmark lost, 0-1
• Denmark vs Haiti: Denmark won, 2-0

Australia has had one loss and two wins also:

• Australia vs Ireland: Matildas won, 1-0
• Australia vs Nigeria: Matildas lost, 2-3
• Australia vs Canada: Matildas won, 4-0

Matildas Line-up:

1. Lydia Williams
2. Courtney Nevin
3. Aivi Luik
4. Clare Polinghorne
5. Cortnee Vine
6. Clare Wheeler
7. Steph Catley
8. Alex Chidiac
9. Caitlin Foord
10. Emily van Egmond
11. Mary Fowler
12. Teagan Micah
13. Tameka Yallop
14. Alanna Kennedy
15. Clare Hunt
16. Harley Raso
17. Kyah Simon
18. Mackenzie Arnold
19. Katrina Gorry
20. Sam Kerr
21. Ellie Carpenter
22. Charlotte Grant
23. Kyra Cooney-Cross

The match kicks off at 8:30 pm AEST on Seven and Optus Sport.

To Top