Paul Maley awarded the big prize at News Awards

News Corp celebrates journalism with News Awards

News Corp celebrated the best of its journalism on Friday night at the annual News Awards, held in Melbourne’s Royal Exhibition Hall.

News Corp has celebrated outstanding work of journalists, photographers, designers, artists and editors from its newspapers, magazines and websites around the country.

Chairman of The Herald and Weekly Times Penny Fowler presented the Sir Keith Murdoch Award for Journalist of the Year to The Australian’s Paul Maley for his fearless investigations into the rise of the Islamic State in Australia. Maley has been at the forefront of the coverage and wrote a series of agenda-setting stories including exposing Mohammed Ali Baryalei as being a major recruiter for the Islamic State.

Newspaper of the Year was awarded to The Sunday Telegraph for the strength and success of its campaigns, such as raising awareness of youth suicide, the importance of childhood vaccinations and helping struggling farmers.

The always hotly contested Scoop of the Year was won by European Correspondent Charles Miranda for securing the revealing MH17 footage that was broadcast around the world, and in the new category of live coverage of breaking news The Daily Telegraph took honours for its extensive reporting of the Lindt Cafe siege.

Photo: Paul Maley of The Australian wins the Sir Keith Murdoch Award Journalist of the Year

News Awards winners
Sir Keith Murdoch Award
Paul Maley – The Australian

Newspaper of the Year
The Sunday Telegraph

Young Journalist of the Year
Tom Minear – Herald Sun

Scoop of the Year
Charles Miranda – MH17 Video – European Correspondent

Campaign of the Year
Take a Stand – Herald Sun

Specialist Writer of the Year
James Jeffrey – The Australian

Magazine of the Year
Vogue Australia

Sports Journalist of the Year
Phil Rothfield, The Sunday/Daily Telegraph

Website of the Year

Innovation of the Year
AnzacLive, Editorial Network

Specialist Product/Publication of the Year
What a Croc!, NT News

Regional Newspaper of the Year
Townsville Bulletin

Community Newspaper of the Year
Wentworth Courier, NewsLocal

Headlines of the Year
Trevor Seymour, NewsLocal

Cartoonist of the Year
Bill Leak, The Australian

Photographer of the Year
David Caird, Sunday/Herald Sun

Photograph of the Year
Adam Taylor – The Daily Telegraph

Excellence in Design and Illustration   
Aurelie Perthuis – Editorial Network

Keith McDonald Award (Business Journalist of the Year)
Damon Kitney – The Australian

Feature Writer of the Year
Greg Bearup and Dan Box – The Weekend Australian Magazine

Live Coverage of Breaking News
The Daily Telegraph – Sydney Siege

Source: News Corp

To Top