Media’s finest: All 35 2019 NRMA Kennedy Award winners

* All winners for the 2019 NRMA Kennedy Award winners

Les Kennedy Award – Outstanding Crime Reporting• 
Sean Rubinsztein-Dunlop, Lesley Robinson and Suzanne Dredge (Four Corners, ABC Investigations)

The Paul Lockyer Award – Outstanding Regional Broadcast Reporting
(sponsor Vodafone)

ABC Television News Team

The Chris Watson Award
Outstanding Regional Newspaper Reporting (sponsor The Judith Neilson Institute for Journalism and Ideas)
Joanne McCarthy (The Newcastle Herald)

The Rod Allen Award
Racing Writer of the Year (sponsor the Australian Turf Club)
Chris Roots (Sydney Morning Herald)

Outstanding Turf Reporting (sponsor Racing NSW)
Ray Thomas (The Daily Telegraph)

Sean Flannery Award: Outstanding Radio Journalism
Osman Faruqi, Alex Mann (ABC Background Briefing)

Outstanding Podcast
Greg Bearup, Eric George, Nicholas Adams-Dzierzba (“Who the Hell is Hamish” The Australian)

Outstanding News Photo
(sponsor Salty Dingo)
Stephen Cook (Diimex)

Outstanding Portrait
(sponsor Salty Dingo)
Phil Hillyard (The Daily Telegraph)

Outstanding Sports Photo
(sponsor Salty Dingo)
Simon Bullard (AAP)

Outstanding Online Video
(sponsor Salty Dingo)
“The Lady Vanishes” – Bryan Seymour, Alison Sandy, Sally Eeles, Paul Walker (7

Power of the Lens
The People’s Choice Award
(sponsor Salty Dingo)
Nick Moir (Sydney Morning Herald)

Vince O’Farrell Award: Outstanding Illustration
(sponsor Stabilo)
Jon Kudelka (The Australian)

The Cliff Neville Award: Outstanding Team Player
(sponsor Watpac)
Ian Fuge (The Sydney Morning Herald)

Outstanding Sport Reporting
(sponsor Hillbrick Bicycles)
Jamie Pandaram (The Daily Telegraph)

Young Journalist of the Year
(sponsor Tata Consultancy Services)
Angela McCormack (Triple J Hack)

Outstanding Travel Writing
(sponsor RM Global Asia Pacific)
Catherine Marshall (Sydney Morning Herald)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Brian Henderson

John Newfong Award: Outstanding Indigenous Affairs Reporting
(sponsor University of Technology Sydney UTS)
Lorena Allam (The Guardian Australia)

Gary Ticehurst Award
Outstanding TV News Camera Coverage
(sponsor Nine News)
James Cannon (7 News)

Harry Potter Award: Outstanding Television News Reporting
(sponsor 10 News First)
Hannah Sinclair (Nine News)

Outstanding Television Current Affairs Reporting Long Form
(sponsor A Current Affair)
Anne Connolly, Mary Fallon, Patricia Drum (Four Corners ABC-TV)

The Mike Willesee Award: Outstanding Nightly Current Affairs
(sponsor Nine News)
Adele Ferguson, Chris Gillett (7.30 ABC-TV)

The Peter Ruehl Award Outstanding Columnist
Sharri Markson (The Daily Telegraph)

Sharri Markson, The Daily Telegraph

Outstanding Finance Reporting
(sponsor Castle Rock Global Capital)
Jonathan Shapiro, Angus Grigg, Lisa Murray (The Australian Financial Review)

Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting
(sponsor Godfrey Wines)
Liam Bartlett, Joel Tozer (60 Minutes, Nine)

Outstanding Online News Breaking
(sponsor Google)
John Lyons, Lorna Knowles, Elise Worthington, Clare Blumer (ABC News)

Outstanding Court Reporting
(sponsor Artline)
Sam Rigney (The Newcastle Herald)

Outstanding Reporting on the Environment
Jack Morphet (The Sunday Telegraph)

Rebecca Wilson Award: Scoop of the Year
(sponsor Twitter)
Danny Weidler (Nine News)

Outstanding Investigative Reporting
Peter Charley (Al Jazeera)

The Jim Oram Award: Outstanding Feature Writing
(sponsor Sydney Morning Herald)
Amanda Hooton (The Good Weekend)

Outstanding Foreign Correspondent
(sponsor AGL)
James Massola (The Sydney Morning Herald)

Outstanding Political Reporting
(sponsor Sky News Australia)
Sky News Australia

David Speers, Sky News

Journalist of the Year
Anne Connolly (ABC Investigations)

Anne Connolly (ABC Investigations)

Anne Connolly, ABC Investigations

Top Photo: Brian Henderson

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top