Queensland Clarion Awards winners 2017

Courier-Mail’s David Murray was named the 2017 Queensland Journalist of the Year

The winners have been announced in this year’s Clarion Awards – Queensland’s major awards for journalistic excellence – which are administered by MEAA.

More than 450 entries were submitted for the 2017 awards ranging across many categories including crime, the environment and politics.

The winners of this year’s Clarions were announced at a gala presentation dinner on Saturday August 26 in the Boulevard Room of the Brisbane Exhibition and Convention Centre, Southbank, Brisbane.

The Courier-Mail’s David Murray was named the 2017 Queensland Journalist of the Year.

The Clarion judges said: “After being approached by the parents of missing schoolgirl Rachel Antonio, David conceived the idea of a podcast that could uncover seemingly neglected aspects of the investigation into her disappearance.

“It took him four months of research, planning and travel as he traced and recorded witnesses, sourced material and scripted five episodes of 35-40 minutes each, with the assistance of digital editor Sean Callinan… David’s work has opened the door to the possible solving of the mystery of her disappearance and giving her grieving parents some resolution.”

David Murray

John Henningham of Brisbane’s JSchool was acknowledged for his 40 years of service by being awarded the Clarion for Most Outstanding Contribution to Journalism.

The judges commented: “It is difficult to over-emphasise the impact that John Henningham has had on Australian journalism… John broke ground by gaining the first Australian doctorate in journalism and becoming the country’s first journalism professor, then continued his pioneering work with JSchool, which for decades has imparted the professional skills that young journalists need, coupled with rigorous academic teaching.”

The All-Media Clarion for New Journalist of the Year went to the Townsville Bulletin’s Chris McMahon. “His coverage of major crime events in North Queensland was thorough, comprehensive and well-written. Chris used his contacts and initiative to find fresh leads and new angles to produce pages of gripping content,” the judges said.

MEAA proudly congratulates all the winners of the 2017 Clarion Awards.

Clarion Awards 2017 Winners

All Media – Business Journalism
Liam Walsh: The Courier-Mail: Caught in a corrupt web

All Media – Commentary, Analysis, Opinion & Critique
Sherele Moody: The Daily Telegraph‘s Rendezview, Various: Agent of Change

All Media – Health and Wellness
Elissa Lawrence: QWeekend, The Courier-Mail: True Grit

All Media – Broadcast Interview
Bruce Atkinson: Various ABC Radio programs: Drama At Long Tan

All Media – Indigenous Issues Reporting
Michael Atkin: ABC TV’s 7.30 Program: Rough justice: The Treatment of Young Indigenous Offenders in North QLD

All Media – Most Outstanding Journalism Student
Jessica Stewart: QUT: Body of Work

All Media – Multicultural Queensland Award
Kristine Taylor, Roger Carter, Greg Hassall: ABC TV’s Australian Story: Australian Story: A Field of Dreams

All Media – Rural Journalism
Dominique Schwartz: ABC TV’s 7pm News: Death Row Dingos

All Media – Social Issues Reporting
Kirstin Murray, Roger Carter: ABC TV’s Australian Story: Tough Love

All Media – Sports Journalism
Grantlee Kieza: The Courier-Mail: The Jeff Horn-Manny Pacquiao fight

All Media – New Journalist of the Year
Chris McMahon: Townsville Bulletin: Body of work

All Media – Investigative Journalism
Michael Atkin: ABC TV’s 7.30 Program, ABC News Online: Investigating the Rise and Fall of Careers Australia

All Media – Freelance Journalism
Andrew McMillen: The Weekend Australian: Body of Work

All Media – Multimedia Journalism
David Murray, Sean Callinan: The Courier-Mail, The Courier-Mail Online: Searching for Rachel Antonio

All Media – Cartoon Illustration or Graphic
Tony Bela: The Courier-Mail: Dreamworld Tragedy

Photography – News Photograph- Metropolitan
Annette Dew: The Courier-Mail: Faces of Tragedy

Photography – Photographic Essay
Zak Simmonds: Townsville Bulletin: Crim Reality

Print/Text – Feature Article
Andrew McMillen: The Weekend Australian: Dying Wish

Print/Text – News Report
Mark Willacy, Alexandra Blucher: ABC News Online: Environment Series

Print /Text – Best Three Headings
Daniel Johnson: Qweekend Magazine/The Courier-Mail: “Give a Dog a Clone”, “Four Legs and a Funeral” and “Winging It at Yoga Can Be a Real Gas”

Radio/Audio – Current Affairs, Feature Documentary or Special
David Murray, Sean Callinan: The Courier-Mail Online: Searching for Rachel Antonio

Radio/ Audio – News Report
Mark Jeffery: ABC Radio North & Far North Queensland: Farmers Attack Defence

Regional & Community – Print/ Text: News Report
Paul Weston: Gold Coast Bulletin: Thin Grim Line

Regional & Community – Broadcast Report
Ben Millington: ABC TV’s Landline and AM Current Affairs Radio: Inside Cleveland Youth Detention

Regional & Community – Print /Text: Feature Article or Opinion
Alexandria Utting, Paul Weston, Wayne Watson: Gold Coast Bulletin: Control Freak: The Tara Brown Murder

Regional & Community – News Photograph
Justin Brierty: The Cairns Post: Don’t Shoot

Television – Current Affairs, Feature Documentary
Paula Doneman, Michael Usher, Duncan McNab, Stephen Peters, Mark Llewellyn: Channel Seven: Murder Uncovered – Who killed Leanne Holland?

Television – The John Bean Award for News and Current Affairs Camerawork
Scott Kyle: ABC TV’s 7.30 Program: Quinkan Country

Television News Report
Nine News Team: Nine Network: Cyclone Debbie

Most Outstanding Contribution to Journalism
John Henningham

2017 Queensland Journalist of the Year
David Murray

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top