Cricket Australia unveils massive 2018/19 Big Bash League fixture

• KFC Big Bash League 08: 50 matches, Xmas Eve/New Year’s Eve clashes

Cricket Australia head of Big Bash League Kim McConnie, local and state government representatives plus representatives from Queensland Cricket, Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Stars BBL clubs will be part of a cast of thousands today for the launch of the fixture for the KFC Big Bash League 08 season. The event is taking place on the Gold Coast.

The other guests include Queensland Minister for Sport Mick de Brenni MP, assistant State Minister for Tourism Industry Development Meaghan Scanlan MP, City of Gold Coast Mayor Tom Tate, Queensland Cricket CEO Max Walters, Brisbane Heat General Manager Andrew McShae, Melbourne Stars CEO Clint Cooper, Gold Coast Suns Chairman Tony Cochrane plus Brisbane Heat BBL players Ben Cutting and Matthew Renshaw, Melbourne Stars BBL player Glenn Maxwell and Brisbane Heat WBBL players Jess Jonassen and Sammy-Jo Johnson.

Early details released by Cricket Australia include confirmation of a December 24 double-header to kick-start the festive season with matches in Hobart and Sydney.

There will also be a blockbuster Melbourne derby on New Year’s Day that could see more than 80,000 fans at the MCG.

The eighth season of the BBL will expand to a full home-and-away season with 59 games, including finals.

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top