AFLW coverage kicks off on Channel Seven from August 25

AFLW Season Seven

AFLW makes history with four new clubs competing for the premiership

In a history-making AFLW season, all 18 clubs of the AFL now have a team the AFLW, and they will compete when the next season of the AFLW kicks off on Thursday 25 August at 7 pm on 7mate and 7plus.

After the opening round between Carlton and Collingwood, Andy Maher, Mick Molloy and Sam Pang return with The Front Bar to discuss the opening round and the matchups to come.

Missing from previous AFLW seasons were four clubs: Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, Essendon and the Sydney Swans. The addition of these clubs sees a fixture full of new talent emerging in women’s football.

Managing director of Seven Melbourne and the head of the network sport Lews Martin said of the new teams: “With four new teams, the new AFLW season marks a monumental moment in our great game and we cannot wait to bring Australians the biggest and best moments of what looks to be a nail-biting AFLW season.”


Hosts Daisy Pearce and Abbey Holmes.

Friday night footy will see a grand final re-match between the Adelaide Crows and Melbourne Demons in Glenelg Oval, on Channel Seven, 7mate and 7plus from 7:30 pm AEST. On Saturday night two debutantes square off when Essendon and Hawthorn take to the field at Marvel Stadium.

Continuing his statement regarding the opening of the season, Martin said: “Once again, we have assembled an unbelievably talented, experienced and respected AFLW on-air line-up, bolstered with some exciting familiar and fresh faces who Australia will love. We can’t wait to get started.”

Fan favourites, longstanding players and new blood take to the field this season, which will make for the biggest season of women’s AFL the Seven Network has produced to date.

Fans of the AFLW can stream every match of the season live and on-demand on 7plus from Thursday the 25 August.

To Top