Finalists announced for Newspaper of the Year Awards

The Age, AFR and The Australian fight for Best Mobile Site

• The Age, AFR and The Australian fight for Best Mobile Site
• Herald Sun doesn’t make nominees for Newspaper of the Year

Finalists for the 2017 Newspaper of the Year Awards, that recognise excellence in news media publishing in print and online, photography, environmental initiatives and print and production, have been announced.

The awards, known as the PANPAs, attracted a higher number of entries than previous years, coming from publishers across Australia, New Zealand, the South Pacific and Asia.

The Newspaper of the Year awards will be presented on September 6, at the conclusion of the INFORM News Media Summit at the International Convention Centre in Sydney.

The awards night will be hosted by The Chaser’s Craig Reucassel and Andrew Hansen. Tickets for the evening can be purchased at

“Our news media brands continue to be among the best in the world and this year’s standard of entries again reflected a high level of excellence in each category. Our judging panel had the challenging task of selecting the best of the best for the hotly contested awards. The PANPAs are the region’s pre-eminent awards in the news media industry and I’d like to congratulate all the finalists,” said NewsMediaWorks CEO Peter Miller.

Most major dailies in Australia have been nominated for the major print awards. One notable absentee though in Newspaper of the Year is Australia’s largest-selling newspaper the Herald Sun.

There are six categories for this year’s Newspaper of the Year awards:
Newspaper of the Year – sponsored by Norske Skog
Digital Destinations of the Year
Photography of the Year – sponsored by Media Super
Technical Excellence – sponsored by DIC
Hegarty Scholarship (for young news media executives) – sponsored by Media Super Environment

Nominees for some of the major awards are:

Best Mobile Site (Open) Finalists
The Age Tablet App, Fairfax Media
The Australian Financial Review universal app, Fairfax Media
The Australian, News Corp Australia

News Site of the Year – National/Metropolitan Finalists
Australian Financial Review (, Fairfax Media
Channel News Asia (, Mediacorp
Courier Mail (, News Corp Australia
Daily Telegraph (, News Corp Australia
The Advertiser, Adelaide (, News Corp Australia
The Age (, Fairfax Media
The Australian (, News Corp Australia
The Canberra Times (, Fairfax Media
The New Zealand Herald (, NZME
The Sydney Morning Herald (, Fairfax Media, Fairfax Media

Daily Newspaper of the Year – Community Finalists
Manly Daily, News Corp Australia
The Gympie Times, News Corp Australia

Regional Finalists
Bendigo Advertiser, Fairfax Media
Gold Coast Bulletin, News Corp Australia
NT News, News Corp Australia
Shepparton News, McPherson Media
Sunraysia Daily, Fairfax Media
The Advocate, Fairfax Media
The Examiner, Fairfax Media
The Mercury, News Corp Australia
Newcastle Herald, Fairfax Media
Townsville Bulletin, News Corp Australia

National/Metropolitan Finalists
The Advertiser, News Corp Australia
The Age, Fairfax Media
The Australian, News Corp Australia
The Australian Financial Review, Fairfax Media
The Canberra Times, Fairfax Media
The Courier-Mail, News Corp Australia
The Daily Telegraph, News Corp Australia
The New Zealand Herald, NZME,
The Sydney Morning Herald, Fairfax Media
The West Australian, Seven West Media (WAN)

See full list of all finalists here.

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top