TV Guide: Wimbledon 2024 on Nine and 9Gem


Alex de Minaur is among the 11 Australian players confirmed for the singles at Wimbledon.

Wimbledon 2024, the third major Grand Slam tennis tournament of the year, begins on Monday July 1, from 7.30pm on 9Gem before moving to Channel 9 later in the evening.

Over the two-week tournament, grass-court glory awaits as the best of the best converge on the All England Lawn Tennis Club, with the winners taking home the Gentlemen’s Singles Trophy and the Rosewater Dish for the women.

Nine’s Wide World of Sports commentary team for Wimbledon will include Todd Woodbridge, Alica Molik, Tony Jones, Jelena Dokic, Samantha Stosur and Brenton Speed, with Roz Kelly and Brett Phillips hosting.

After reaching the quarter-finals at Roland Garros earlier this year, Alex de Minaur is among the 11 Australian players confirmed for the singles at Wimbledon. Completing the male Aussie lineup are Thanasi Kokkinakis, Jordan Thompson, Alexei Popyrin, Chris O’Connell, Rinky Hijikata, Max Purcell, Aleksander Vukic and Adam Walton.

After missing Wimbledon in 2023 due to a knee injury, Aijla Tomjanovic will return to the grass. Daria Saville is the other Australian woman in the tournament.

Coming off his first French Open title, defending Wimbledon champion Carlos Alcaraz is considered the man to beat. Alcaraz, 21, recently became the youngest male player to win major titles on all three surfaces, after claiming the US Open in 2023. His strongest opponent is the 2024 Australian Open champion and current world No.1 Jannik Sinner.

After her recent victory at Roland Garros, world No.1 Iga Świątek is aiming to add a grass court Wimbledon major to her trophy cabinet. Apart from the top seed, Australia Open champion and world No. 2 Aryna Sabalenka and American Coco Gauff are among the fancied contenders.

Ash Barty will make a return to Wimbledon to play in the Invitational Doubles, playing for the first time since retiring after winning the 2022 Australian Open.

Wimbledon 2024 begins Monday, 1 July at 7:30 pm on 9Gem and Nine.

To Top