TV Guide: Argentina v France in the 2022 FIFA World Cup final

FIFA World Cup final

Kicking off at 2:00am AEDT, viewers can catch the action live and free on SBS

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will conclude on Monday, December 19, with a blockbuster final between Argentina and France at Lusail Stadium.

Kicking off at 2:00am AEDT, viewers can catch the action live and free on SBS and SBS On Demand. 

Argentina got off to a rocky start when they went down 2-1 to Saudi Arabia in their Group C opener, but recovered with wins over Mexico and Poland to finish first and set up a Round of 16 clash with Australia.

A 2-1 win over Australia led to a win on penalties over the Netherlands in the quarter-final. La Albiceleste then swept Croatia aside 3-0 in the semi-final to return to the final for the first time since 2014.

Entering the tournament as the defending champions, France topped Group D with wins over Australia and Denmark. Led by Kylian Mbappe, Les Bleus dispatched Poland in the Round of 16 and England in the quarter-final before a relatively calm victory over Morocco in the semi-final.

Mediaweek has been tracking live metro audiences as measured by OzTAM for the games being broadcast on SBS Television. The most-watched match this season was Tunisia v Australia, with 1,034,000 views, followed by Australia v Argentina, with 964,000 views.

Most recent ratings

Friday December 9
Brazil v Croatia 54,000

Saturday December 10
Netherlands v Argentina 274,000
Brazil v Croatia 88,000

Sunday December 11
England v France 401,000
Morocco v Portugal 70,000

Wednesday December 14
Argentina v Croatia 324,000

Thursday December 15
France v Morocco 339,000

See also: FIFA World Cup 2022 SBS TV ratings: Every match for every team in Qatar

Qatar 2022 top goalscorers

5 goals
Lionel Messi (Argentina) – 3 assists, 570 minutes played
Kylian Mbappe (France) – 2 assists, 477 minutes played

4 goals
Julian Alvarez (Argentina) – 0 assists, 364 minutes played
Olivier Giroud (France) – 0 assists, 383 minutes played

3 goals
Goncalo Ramos (Portugal) 
Alvaro Morata (Spain)
Marcus Rashford (England)
Enner Valencia (Ecuador)
Bukayo Saka (England)
Richarlison (Brazil)
Cody Gakpo (Netherlands) 

FIFA World Cup final on SBS, Monday, December 19 at 2:00am

To Top