Seven and Racing Victoria renew FTA and broadcast partnership

Racing Victoria

• Seven’s premium raceday coverage will resume on Saturday 29 August

The Seven Network and Racing Victoria have announced a five-year extension of their broadcast partnership.

In continuing its long-standing partnership with Racing Victoria, Seven will broadcast 21 feature days of elite Victorian thoroughbred racing each year, while coverage will continue to be broadcast on Channel 78 up to and including 2025.

Seven’s premium raceday coverage will resume on Saturday 29 August, on what is the official opening day of the 2020 Spring Racing Carnival with the Group 1 Memsie Stakes at Caulfield.

Seven West Media managing director and CEO James Warburton commented: “We welcome this important agreement with Racing Victoria. It represents another opportunity for Seven to deliver Australian audiences premium sport, adding to our extensive portfolio of sports programming. I’d like to thank Racing Victoria for this significant and continuing partnership.”

Managing director Seven Melbourne and head of network sport Lewis Martin added: “Seven and Racing Victoria have been bound together for so long by our mutual love of thoroughbred racing and this new agreement is a demonstration of true partnership and the value of it. Together we remain committed to growing the sport of racing and ensuring its long-term health throughout Australia.”

racing vitoria

Broadcaster Bruce McAvaney, who will continue to lead Seven’s racing coverage, said: “Racing’s resilience has already been fully tested this year and its ability to connect with the Australian public has been reinforced. The Seven Network’s relationship with the sport in Victoria is enduring. It’s a legacy built up by broadcasting legends Bill Collins and Ron Casey and their standards have set the platform for our current on and off-air racing team. Personally, to be a part of that continuing tradition is a career highlight.”

Racing Victoria CEO Giles Thompson commented: “We’re delighted to announce a five-year extension of our broadcast agreement with Seven, who have and will continue to be wonderful supporters of thoroughbred racing. This is a fantastic partnership and we’re excited to be working with the team at Seven to continue building that so that sporting and racing fans remain the winners, enjoying entertaining and informative broadcasts of Victorian racing. Most importantly this agreement underpins and strengthens the future of the industry-owned and the pivotal role it plays in showcasing Victorian racing each and every day to the nation as Australia’s only 24/7 free-to-air sporting channel. This is wonderful news for racing fans and keen punters across Australia.” CEO Andrew Catterall commented: “We are delighted that will continue to be broadcast every day of the week free-to-air nationally on Channel 78 for the next five years. This is a vote of confidence in the team at and the role we play supporting the growth of the Victorian racing industry. With the ongoing support of Racing Victoria and Seven, we have now locked down year-round free-to-air distribution to 2025, providing a solid foundation for to pursue new opportunities ahead.” is Australia’s only 24/7 free-to-air sporting channel, broadcasting Victorian and South Australian thoroughbred racing every day of the year. It also boasts a suite of magazine shows, while broadcasting a number of the biggest meetings in world racing, such as Royal Ascot.

The 21 feature Saturday racedays to be broadcast are (those numbered 1-10 conducted during Spring and 11-21 during Autumn):

1. Memsie Stakes – Caulfield
2. Feehan Stakes – The Valley
3. Makybe Diva Stakes – Flemington
4. Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes – Caulfield
5. Underwood Stakes – Caulfield
6. Turnbull Stakes – Flemington
7. Caulfield Guineas – Caulfield
8. Caulfield Cup – Caulfield
9. Cox Plate – The Valley
10. Zipping Classic – Sandown
11. C.F. Orr Stakes – Caulfield
12. Black Caviar Lightning Stakes – Flemington
13. Blue Diamond Stakes – Caulfield
14. Australian Guineas – Flemington
15. Australian Cup – Flemington
16. The All-Star Mile – The Valley
17. Mornington Cup – Mornington
18. Golden Mile – Bendigo
19. Easter Cup – Caulfield
20. Caulfield Autumn Raceday – Caulfield
21. Victorian Owners & Breeders Raceday – Caulfield

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top