Seven and Herald Sun win at Football Media Association awards

Herald Sun award winners

• SEN breakfast host and Fox Footy contributor Garry Lyon won the Alf Brown Award

Seven AFL commentators Bruce McAvaney and Brian Taylor, along with 7NEWS reporter Tom Browne were honoured at the Australian Football Media Association awards last night.

Bruce McAvaney was awarded the Best TV commentator – match day. The judges said Bruce’s longevity, knowledge and passion for the game made him a standout in a very strong field of broadcasters. Bruce dedicated his award to Norwood great Robert Oatey with whom he had the pleasure of calling with in the SANFL.

Brian Taylor was awarded the Lou Richards Award for the second time for his work on Seven’s AFL coverage and Triple M radio in 2019.

The medal is awarded to a former or current league footballer working in the media. It recognises all the qualities displayed by Lou throughout his career on and off the field, including his personality, humour and ability to talk about the game.

The judges were impressed with the energy and vibrancy Brian brought to his commentary and post-game interviews.

7NEWS’ Tom Browne was awarded the Best TV/Radio/Online news reporter for his exceptional work on the Jaidyn Stephenson match-betting story.

The judges said: “AFL integrity issues are a notoriously difficult nut to crack and are strongly in the public interest” and Tom’s revelation was the “standout scoop.”

Tom broke the story with information from trusted sources before the AFL or Collingwood confirmed it.

7NEWS’ Mark Stevens (Best TV/Radio/Online news reporter) and Daisy Pearce (Lou Richards Medal) also received honourable mentions. Stevens was recognised for his work on the Ross Lyon and Steve Rosich departures at Fremantle.

Herald Sun journalists recognised with AFL Media Awards

Herald Sun staff have scooped the pool at tonight’s AFL Media Awards, reports the Melbourne news brand.

Chief football writer Mark Robinson was named best news reporter for a series of exclusive articles that included that announcement that North Melbourne was axing coach Brad Scott in May this year and a story that announced an apology from Gillon McLachlan over the league’s handling of crowd control.

Robinson was also awarded best breaking news story for his Scott story.

The Herald Sun’s Sacked podcast on ex-AFL coaches was named best podcast.

The brainchild of leading AFL journalists Jon Ralph and Glenn McFarlane and social media producer Daniel Freeman, the 10 Sacked episodes have had more than 265,000 downloads.

Lauren Wood was awarded best individual coverage of AFLW. Wood has been at the forefront of news breaking and feature stories since the introduction of the women’s competition.

Glenn McFarlane was also honoured with AFMA life membership, alongside former Herald Sun reporter Michael Stevens.

Fox Footy’s AFL 360 – co-hosted by Gerard Whateley and Robinson – picked up the gong for Best TV program.

Photographer Sarah Reed, from the Herald Sun’s sister paper the Adelaide Advertiser, won best news/feature photo.

[Read the original]

SEN breakfast host and Fox Footy contributor Garry Lyon won the Alf Brown Award at the AFL Media Awards. It is the second time Lyon has won the award.

Top Photo: Herald Sun reporters Glenn McFarlane, Jon Ralph, Lauren Wood and Mark Robinson with social media producer Daniel Freeman at the 2019 AFMA awards (Source: News Corp)

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top