Screen Producers Australia Awards finalists announced

Screen Producers Australia has announced the finalists in the 15th Screen Producers Australia Awards.

Screen Producers Australia has announced the finalists in the 15th Screen Producers Australia Awards. The Awards are the primary litmus test of industry excellence, and the only awards voted by production businesses working in the industry. They celebrate great Australian screen productions; honour the skill, accomplishment, and imagination of its Production Businesses; and aim to increase awareness of the role producers play in creating Australian screen stories.

The Awards recognise excellence in 11 categories of film, television and interactive productions, including the inaugural Short Film Production Award, which is sponsored by Cutting Edge.

“This year we received a record number of entries, highlighting the commercial strength of the current Australian film and television industries. The Awards acknowledge the creation of outstanding screen content across various mediums and the incredible contribution of our Production Businesses,” said executive director of Screen Producers Australia, Matthew Deaner. “We look forward to celebrating with all the finalists and industry in November.”

The full list of finalists in the Production Awards


Telemovie or Mini Series Production
Catching Milat, Shine Australia
Deadline Gallipoli, Matchbox Pictures
Devil’s Playground, Matchbox Pictures
House of Hancock, House of Hancock
The Secret River, Ruby Entertainment

Drama Television Production
The Code, Playmaker Media
Glitch, Matchbox Pictures
Love Child S02, Playmaker Media
Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries S03, Every Cloud Productions
Wentworth S03, Fremantle Media Australia

Children’s Television Production
Bushwhacked! S03, Mint Pictures
Mako Island Of Secrets S02, Jonathan M Shiff Productions
Nowhere Boys S02, Matchbox Pictures
Pirate Express, Sticky Pictures
Tashi, Flying Bark Productions

Comedy Television Production
8MMM Aboriginal Radio, Brindle Films & Princess Pictures
Danger 5 S02, Hedone Productions
Maximum Choppage, Matchbox Pictures
Open Slather, Rick McKenna Entertainment/Princess Pictures
Please Like Me S02, Guesswork Television

Light Entertainment Television Production
Agony, High Wire Films
Family Feud, Fremantle Media Australia
How Not To Behave, Screentime
The Intolerant Cooks, Bengar Films
Room 101, Matchbox Pictures

Reality Television Production
Googlebox Australia, Shine Australia
I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here, ITV Studios Australia
The Real Housewives Of Melbourne S02, Matchbox Pictures
Village Vets Australia, Screentime
The X Factor S05, FremantleMedia Australia

Documentary Television Production
Blood and Thunder: The Story of Alberts, Beyond Screen Production
Brilliant Creatures, Mint Pictures
Go Back To Where You Came From, Cordell Jigsaw Productions
Prison Songs, Beyond Productions
Redesign My Brain S02, Mindful Media


Feature Documentary Production
Between A Frock And A Hard Place, Jungleboys FTV The Dalfram Dispute 1938: Pig Iron Bob, Why Documentaries
Sam Klemke’s Time Machine, Closer Productions
That Sugar Film, Madman Production Company
Women He’s Undressed, Damien Parer Productions

Feature Film Production
Downriver, Happening Films
Holding The Man, Goalpost Pictures
The Infinite Man, Hedone Productions
Kill Me Three Times, Feisty Dame Productions
Maya The Bee Movie, Flying Bark Productions


Short Film Production
Emo (The Musical), Matthewswood Productions
Flat Daddy, Angelfire Films
Karroyul, Spear Point Productions
Nulla Nulla, CAAMA Productions
Reg Makes Contact, Damsel Pictures


Interactive Production
Hand Of Fate, Defiant Development
How To Talk Australians, Jason Byrne Productions
MY:24, Australian Children’s Television Foundation/Essential Media and Entertainment
Sherlock: The Network, The Project Factory
Starting From… Now! S03, In Cahoots Creations

The Award recipients will be revealed at the prestigious Screen Producers Australia Awards taking place at the Palladium at Crown in Melbourne, on Thursday, November 19 2015 as part of the 30th SCREEN FOREVER Conference.

To view trailers of the finalists visit:

To Top