Osher Günsberg named as 2022 Chair of Judge for Australian Podcast Awards

Australian Podcast Awards

Günsberg has appointed several judges that will form part of the panel

The Australian Podcast Awards (APAs), powered by iHeart, have announced Osher Günsberg as Chair of Judge for the APA’s.

2021 APAs winners included Laura Byrne and Brittney Hockley’s Life Uncut, Julia Gillard’s A Podcast of One’s Own, and Brooke Boney and Linda Marigliano’s Brooke and Linda’s Dream Club.

As part of his duties as Chair of Judge, Günsberg has appointed several judges that will form part of the panel of local and international judges that will bring in a range of different perspectives to the awards this year.

Osher Günsberg, Chair of Judges at the Australian Podcast Awards, said: “Podcasts are a form of spoken art, nothing beats the authenticity and intimacy of podcasting. It has been incredible to see the growth of podcasting in Australia and I am honoured to celebrate the top local podcasting talent we have had this year by appointing some of the top industry leaders and podcasting royalty to be part of the panel of judges to bring fresh and diverse perspectives to this year’s Australian Podcast Awards.”

The judging panel includes a list of well-known personalities, industry veterans, and audiophiles who will determine the best Australian podcasts.

A few names to take note of on this years judging panel are media personality and podcaster, Georgia Love, head of digital audio at ARN‘s iHeartPodcast Network, Corey Layton, Emma Georgiadis, Triple J presenter, ARN podcast operations executive, Gabi Price, commissioning editor at SBS, Marissa McDowell along with partnerships lead at Spotify, Prithi Dey.

The APAs independent judging panel also unites talent from podcast production houses including: Spotify, Acast, ARN/ iHeartRadio, LiSTNR, SoundCartel, SBS, SCA and Piccolo Podcasts.

Matt Deegan, director at the Australian Podcast Awards, said: “We are thrilled to announce industry leader, Osher Günsberg as our Chair of Judge for the sixth year of the awards. The judging panel is world-class and will bring new perspectives to this year’s awards. It isn’t strictly audio experts. Instead we ensure that each category has a broad mix of people from podcasting and outside of podcasting to give different viewpoints. It is incredible to see the content Australian creators are bringing to the table, sparking new conversations around the world.”

The judging commenced last week and will continue over the next two weeks. Category winners will be announced at the event in November, in person at the awards ceremony taking place at Sydney’s Seymour Theatre on Monday 21st November from 7 – 11pm.

To Top