Oscars 2023: Full list of winners


The 95th Annual Academy Awards (Oscars) are back for 2023, airing live on Seven and 7plus.

Jimmy Kimmel returns as host of the Oscars for the first time since 2018, music superstar Rihanna will perform her Oscar-nominated song Lift Me Up from Black Panther: Wakanda Forever and GRAMMY-winning musician Lenny Kravitz will deliver the “In Memoriam” performance.

The gala Oscars ceremony starts live and exclusive at 11.00am AEDT on Channel Seven and 7plus, with an encore screening at 8.45pm after Australian Idol’s live verdict show.

For a full Oscars 2023 run-down, click here.

Below is Mediaweek’s live coverage of the winners, as they are announced. Winners are bolded.

2023 Oscars nominees and winners

Best Picture
All Quiet on the Western Front
Avatar: The Way of Water
The Banshees of Inisherin
Everything Everywhere All at Once
The Fabelmans
Top Gun: Maverick
Triangle of Sadness
Women Talking

Best Director
Martin McDonagh for The Banshees of Inisherin
Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert for Everything Everywhere All at Once
Steven Spielberg for The Fabelmans
Todd Field for Tar
Ruben Ostlund for Triangle of Sadness

Best Lead Actor
Austin Butler in Elvis
Colin Farrell in The Banshees of Inisherin
Brendan Fraser in The Whale
Paul Mescal in Aftersun
Bill Nighy in Living

Best Lead Actress
Cate Blanchett in Tar
Ana de Armas in Blonde
Andrea Riseborough in To Leslie
Michelle Williams in The Fabelmans
Michelle Yeoh in Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Actor
Brendan Gleeson in The Banshees of Inisherin
Brian Tyree Henry in Causeway
Judd Hirsch in The Fabelmans
Barry Keoghan in The Banshees of Inisherin
Ke Huy Quan in Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Actress
Angela Bassett in Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Hong Chau in The Whale
Kerry Condon in The Banshees of Inisherin
Jamie Lee Curtis in Everything Everywhere All at Once
Stephanie Hsu in Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Adapted Screenplay
All Quiet on the Western Front – screenplay by Edward Berger, Lesley Paterson and Ian Stokell
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery – written by Rian Johnson
Living – written by Kazuo Ishiguro
Top Gun: Maverick – screenplay by Ehren Kruger and Eric Warren Singer and Christopher McQuarrie; Story by Peter Craig and Justin Marks
Women Talking – screenplay by Sarah Polley

Best Original Screenplay
The Banshees of Inisherin – written by Martin McDonagh
Everything Everywhere All at Once – written by Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
The Fabelmans – written by Steven Spielberg & Tony Kushner
Tar – written by Todd Field
Triangle of Sadness in written by Ruben stlund

Best Cinematography
All Quiet on the Western Front – James Friend
Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths – Darius Khondji
Elvis – Mandy Walker
Empire of Light – Roger Deakins
Tar – Florian Hoffmeister

Best Documentary Feature Film
All That Breathes
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Fire of Love
A House Made of Splinters

Best Documentary Short Film
The Elephant Whisperers
How Do You Measure a Year?
The Martha Mitchell Effect
Stranger at the Gate

Best Film Editing
The Banshees of Inisherin – Mikkel E.G. Nielsen
Elvis – Matt Villa and Jonathan Redmond
Everything Everywhere All at Once – Paul Rogers
Tar – Monika Willi
Top Gun: Maverick – Eddie Hamilton

Best International Feature Film
All Quiet on the Western Front
Argentina, 1985
The Quiet Girl

Best Original Song
Applause from Tell It Like a Woman
Hold My Hand from Top Gun: Maverick
Lift Me Up from Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Naatu Naatu from RRR
This Is a Life from Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Production Design
All Quiet on the Western Front – production design: Christian M. Goldbeck; set decoration: Ernestine Hipper
Avatar: The Way of Water – production design: Dylan Cole and Ben Procter; set decoration: Vanessa Cole
Babylon – production design: Florencia Martin; set decoration: Anthony Carlino
Elvis – production design: Catherine Martin and Karen Murphy; set decoration: Bev Dunn
The Fabelmans – production design: Rick Carter; set decoration: Karen O’Hara

Best Visual Effects
All Quiet on the Western Front – Frank Petzold, Viktor Mller, Markus Frank and Kamil Jafar
Avatar: The Way of Water – Joe Letteri, Richard Baneham, Eric Saindon and Daniel Barrett
The Batman – Dan Lemmon, Russell Earl, Anders Langlands and Dominic Tuohy
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Geoffrey Baumann, Craig Hammack, R. Christopher White and Dan Sudick
Top Gun: Maverick – Ryan Tudhope, Seth Hill, Bryan Litson and Scott R. Fisher

Best Animated Feature Film
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio
Marcel the Shell With Shoes On
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish
The Sea Beast
Turning Red

Best Animated Short Film
The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse
The Flying Sailor
Ice Merchants
My Year of Dicks
An Ostrich Told Me the World Is Fake and I Think I Believe It

Best Costume Design
Babylon – Mary Zophres
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Ruth Carter
Elvis – Catherine Martin
Everything Everywhere All at Once – Shirley Kurata
Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris – Jenny Beavan

Best Live Action Short
An Irish Goodbye – Tom Berkeley and Ross White
Ivalu – Anders Walter and Rebecca Pruzan
Le Pupille – Alice Rohrwacher and Alfonso Cuarn
Night Ride – Eirik Tveiten and Gaute Lid Larssen
The Red Suitcase – Cyrus Neshvad

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
All Quiet on the Western Front – Heike Merker and Linda Eisenhamerov
The Batman – Naomi Donne, Mike Marino and Mike Fontaine
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Camille Friend and Joel Harlow
Elvis – Mark Coulier, Jason Baird and Aldo Signoretti
The Whale – Adrien Morot, Judy Chin and Anne Marie Bradley

Best Original Score
All Quiet on the Western Front – Volker Bertelmann
Babylon – Justin Hurwitz
The Banshees of Inisherin – Carter Burwell
Everything Everywhere All at Once – Son Lux
The Fabelmans – John Williams

Best Sound
All Quiet on the Western Front – Viktor Pril, Frank Kruse, Markus Stemler, Lars Ginzel and Stefan Korte
Avatar: The Way of Water – Julian Howarth, Gwendolyn Yates Whittle, Dick Bernstein, Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers and Michael Hedges
The Batman – Stuart Wilson, William Files, Douglas Murray and Andy Nelson
Elvis – David Lee, Wayne Pashley, Andy Nelson and Michael Keller
Top Gun: Maverick – Mark Weingarten, James H. Mather, Al Nelson, Chris Burdon and Mark Taylor

To Top