Nine and News Corp Australia dominate the 2023 Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism


The awards were held at the Royal Randwick in Sydney

Nine and News Corp swept the 2023 Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism on Friday night, walking away with various awards recognising all types of Journalism.

News Corp Australia

The Daily Telegraph won two Kennedy awards including best online news breaking and best online video. 

Crime reporters Mark Morri and Josh Hanrahan were recognised for outstanding online video for their online series on Sydney’s youth crime gangs, The War – Young Blood. They shared the award with editor Ben English, former deputy editor Anna Caldwell, and journalists Clementine Cuneo and Zac McLean.

Reporters Clemintine Cuneo, Josh Hanrahan, Dan Proudman, John Rolfe and Tamaryn McGregor shared the win for best online news breaking for their coverage of the tragic Hunter Valley Bus Crash in June. also took home the outstanding court and legal affairs reporting category for their coverage of the Justice Shouldn’t Hurt campaign.

Stephen Rice from The Australian took home The Cliff Neville Award for Outstanding Team Player or Mentor.

Matt Cunningham from Sky News won The Paul Lockyer Award for regional broadcast reporting for his coverage on the violence happening in the Northern Territory.

Ben Dorries capped off the night for News Corp, winning the Rod Allen Award for Racing Writer of the Year. 


The Australian Financial Review took home the biggest awards of the night, including Journalist of the Year for Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros for their reporting on the PwC tax leaks scandal. 

They also won Outstanding Finance Reporting, Outstanding Feature Writing, Best Investigative Reporting and Scoop of the Year.

The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age won six awards including Outstanding Portrait Photography, Outstanding Political Reporting, Outstanding Cartoon, Indigenous Affairs Reporting award for Paradise Poisoned, Outstanding Television Current Affairs for Trafficked and Outstanding Foreign Correspondent.

Capping off the night for Nine was wins for Ben Fordham and James Willis for radio journalism, Laurie Oakes winning the Outstanding Lifetime Achievement award and Nine News in Queensland winning the Outstanding Podcast Award for Hannah’s Story.

To Top