Media Hall of Fame: 50 NSW legends inducted as journalism project goes national

More than 50 late and living legends of journalism in NSW were inducted

More than 50 late and living legends of journalism in New South Wales have been inducted into the Australian Media Hall of Fame, which celebrates how great journalism has enriched the history of the nation.

The inductees – reporters, photographers, broadcasters, cartoonists, editors and publishers – were honoured at a gala dinner in Sydney on Friday inaugurating the national phase of the Hall of Fame project.

The new inductees include trail-blazing women journalists Ita Buttrose and Anne Summers, broadcasters Mike Willesee and John Laws, global investigative journalists Phillip Knightley and John Pilger and publishers Sir Frank and Kerry Packer.

The keynote address to the dinner was delivered by veteran Sydney Morning Herald investigative journalist Kate McClymont, who also was inducted for her outstanding contribution to Australian journalism.

The judges for the NSW selections were former Fairfax editor Michael Smith (chair), media commentator Mark Day, media historian Professor Bridget Griffen-Foley of Macquarie University and Guardian Australia photographer Mike Bowers.

Visit the Media Hall of Fame here.

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top