Ash Barty, Sam Kerr named among Women In Sport Awards finalists

women in sport awards 2022

10 awards will be presented from more than 3,000 nominations

Women’s Health has revealed a list of more than 30 finalists for the Women In Sport (WinS) Awards on October 16, with voting now open until October 14.

Now in its 10th year, the WinS recognises women who have made an exceptional impact on their sport. The awards also play a significant role in inspiring the next generation of female sporting talent in Australia.

Exclusive to Fox Sports, Foxtel and Kayo, the 90-minute broadcast will be hosted by Fox Sports’ Sarah Jones, Lara Pitt and Bianca Chatfield.

Lizza Gebilagin, editor-in-chief Women’s Health, said: “The calibre of this year’s Women’s Health Women In Sport Awards finalists is incredible. With athletes representing sports across wheelchair rugby to swimming, AFLW and tennis – and from local to international levels of competition – there has never been a more competitive year for the Awards.” 

From more than 3,000 public nominations, the finalists have been named:

Local Sporting Champion

Jacqui Dover, Basketball
•Shae Graham, Wheelchair Rugby
•Anna K Hassan, Go Active Women
•Eloise Wellings, Athletics
•Bonnie Hancock, Ironwoman

Leadership Legend

•Chloe McCardel, Ultra Swimming
•Cate Campbell, Swimming
•Chloe Dalton, Rugby 7s / AFLW
•Ali Brigginshaw, NRLW
•Caroline Buchanan, BMX

One To Watch

Molly Taylor, Motorsport
•Ezi Magbegor, Basketball
•Mary Fowler, Football
•Jessica Hull, Athletics
•Molly Picklum, Surfing

Champion Team of the Year

•Australian Women’s Cricket Team, Cricket
•Women’s 4 x 100 metre free relay team, Swimming
•Adelaide Crows, AFLW
•Australian Diamonds, Netball 
•Women’s Rugby Sevens, Rugby

Standout Moment

•Ashleigh Barty wins the 2022 Australian Open
•Ariarne Titmus beats the GOAT Katie Ledecky
•Jess Fox wins historic Olympic Gold
•Women’s 4 x 100 metre freestyle relay team win gold
•Madison de Rozario wins Tokyo Marathon Gold
•Minjee Lee wins the 2022 US Open

 Young Achiever 

•Hannah Darlington, Cricket
•Tess Coady, Snowboarding
•Angie Scarth-Johnson, Sport Climbing 
•Isis Holt, Para Athletics
•Kaylee McKeown, Swimming
•Sunday Aryang, Netball

Women’s Health Athlete 2022

•Ashleigh Barty, Tennis
•Jessica Fox, Slalom Canoe
•Madison de Rozario, Para Athletics
•Emma McKeon, Swimming
•Tia-Clair Toomey, CrossFit
•Sam Kerr, Football

A total of ten awards will be presented on the night, including the announcement of winners for Hall of Fame, Person of Sporting Influence and the Federal Government’s Outstanding Woman in Sport.

The awards will be broadcast live and exclusively on Fox Sports, available on Foxtel and Kayo Sports on October 16.

To Top