Applications open for Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship

Applications for the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship now open

Recent journalism graduates and final-year university students interested in pursuing a career in television are encouraged to apply for the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship. Established in 2013 by ITV Studio’s Anita Jacoby, the scholarship provides a 12-week paid internship with some of Australia’s most well-known and experienced news and current affairs journalists and producers.
Over the 12-week period, the successful applicant will be given the chance to apply their skills learnt throughout the course of their degree and gain practical newsroom experience with:
•  Two weeks in the Nine News Sydney newsroom undertaking research and assisting in the production of news stories
•  Two weeks at A Current Affair and Today researching and working on the production of stories
•  Four weeks at 60 Minutes in research and working alongside producers
•  Four weeks at The Walkley Foundation working to produce the Walkley Awards
•  Participation in at least one TV production course at the AFTRS
•  Mentoring from Walkley Advisory Board members including industry heavyweights Kate McClymont (The SMH), Angelos Frangopoulos (Sky News), Michael Beach (The West Australian), Marina Go (Bauer), Jill Baker (Sunday Herald Sun), Anne Davies (The SMH), Hedley Thomas (The Australian), Jonathan Richards (Google’s Creative Lab), Fran Kelly (ABC Radio National), Sandra Sully (TEN Eyewitness News), Nick Moir (The SMH), John Stanley (2UE), Claire Harvey (The Sunday Telegraph) and Lisa Wilkinson (Today)
2013 recipient Will Mumford is now working as a journalist at SBS News. 2014 joint winners Kirrily Schwarz and Megan Stafford are also both working in industry at Nine News and the Walkley Foundation.
To apply, go to

To Top