AACTA announces finalists of the 2021 AACTA Reg Grundy Award

reg grundy award

• The 2021 AACTA Reg Grundy Award will offer $10,000 to someone under 25

AACTA has announced the five finalists for the 2021 AACTA Reg Grundy Award, established to support new ideas in screen entertainment and fast track new and original productions. 

The 2021 AACTA Reg Grundy Award was open to any Australian with a new idea for a television competition program, with $50K on offer.

In addition to last year’s prize of $20,000 in cash and $30,000 in development funding, the 2021 AACTA Reg Grundy Award will offer $10,000 to someone under 25 with a TV show pitch that impresses the judges. AACTA will announcing more news on that in the coming weeks.

Last year’s finalists have all gone on to garner industry interest with the creators of the 2020 Reg Grundy Award winner, Seven Pups, in discussion with producers in the US for series 1. Factual and unscripted production company WTFN are collaborating on other projects for broadcasters and streamers with one finalist entering a development agreement.

This year’s finalists are:

Australian Graffiti – Neil Singh
Australian Graffiti is a modern reality competition where talented street artists put their skills and creativity to the test. They will compete in a series of challenges that will help transform a town in need into a captivating outdoor gallery. The artists will hope to impress industry icons enough to go on and win the ultimate prize.

Boomerang – Kevin Brumpton and Angus Fitzsimons
A game show where the players throw the questions away… but they keep coming back.

Fun family viewing in an original and distinctive take on the classic game show format.

Pass it On! – Tylah Pratt
A challenge-based comedy show in which six personalities work in pairs to compete in a series of outlandish tasks, whereby one team member is given a rapid masterclass on a random subject and required to pass the lesson on to their teammate as best they can to then execute the task in a real world scenario with the team judged by the end result.

Real Teams – Ross and Rochella Calia
Teams of athletes, each made up of people with and without disability, undertake challenges of strength and skill as they work together to battle each other for crowning glory.

The Second Best Game Show – Jason Chong
Want to win this quiz? Finish second.

The Second Best Game Show takes the quiz show format and destroys it by asking one question: “What would happen if it’s the person in second place that takes home the prize money?”

Each entrant will pitch their original concepts to the judging panel made up of experienced industry figures in the local and international television industry, available for all to view as part of AACTA’s ScreenFest program on Tuesday 7 December, on AACTA TV.

The judging panel includes Eden Gaha (President of unscripted television at Shine USA), Cathy Payne (CEO of Banijay Rights), Sharon Wheeler (Award-winning Senior Entertainment Executive), and Marion Farrelly (Speaker, consultant, TV & Film Producer), and Ian Hogg (Media CEO, Advisor, Australian Idol, Australia’s Got Talent, Family Feud).

To Top