TV Guide: Australia v India in the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup

ICC Cricket world cup australia v india

The game will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Australia is getting ready to take the field for their first match of the ICC Cricket World Cup, up against host nation India. First ball is at 7:30pm AEDT. 

The game will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, and broadcast on Channel Nine and 9Now, on Fox Cricket (Channel 501), and streaming platform Kayo Sports.

The last time the two teams faced each other was March this year – also in Chennai. Despite a close match, Australia managed to just come out on top. 

Speaking ahead of the match, Australian captain Pat Cummins said that there are “a few ways you can go about” ODI cricket.

“As a captain the questions you want to ask are; are you trying to get out overs from your fifth or sixth bowler? Or do you try and front end it and bowl the main guys, trying to go after those wickets.

“But then if it doesn’t work out, your last 10 overs might be a bit more exposed.

“Sometimes if the ball’s not swinging or spinning, maybe it’s trying to build pressure and get wickets that way.

“It’s an interesting phase – you’ve got to try and think a little bit differently. It’s probably one part of the captaincy I do enjoy.”

Australia v India ICC World Cup lineups:


Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.


Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.

ICC Cricket World Cup: Australia v India. 7:30pm AEDT, on Nine, Fox Cricket, and Kayo

Every Australia game and every finals game will be available on Nine, with every game of the tournament available on Fox Cricket (Channel 501) and Kayo Sports across the six weeks of One Day International cricket.

To Top