Sia makes history at 2015 APRA Awards

Sia and Sheppard win big at 2015 APRA Awards.

Sia made Australian music history at last night’s APRA Awards, becoming the first person to win the prestigious Songwriter of the Year award for the third consecutive year for her song ‘Chandelier’. Of the impressive feat, APRA AMCOS CEO Brett Cottle said “This is an unprecedented, and very likely, a never-to-be-repeated achievement by one of our most talented songwriters. Sia has been an APRA member since 1996… Since then she has become one of the most successful and acclaimed songwriters of her era.  We’re incredibly proud of her achievements and honoured to represent her.”
“Chandelier” was also awarded the peer-voted APRA Song of the Year at a ceremony in Sydney’s Carriageworks hosted by Brian Nankervis. Guest presenters included Vance Joy, Jimmy Barnes, Melinda Schneider and Kerri-Anne Kennerley. Alongside Daniel Johns’ performance of his new single “Preach”, guests were entertained by the likes of Lisa Mitchell and Jake Clemons, Thief, Penelope Austin and M-Phazes, Jon Hume, Mark Vincent and Julie Lea Goodwin, Jimmy Barnes and Diesel, and Kingswood.
Footage of performances and interviews will be available on the Moshcam website from 4pm today, with those interested invited to pre-register their interest here.

•  Song of the Year
Title: Chandelier
Artist: Sia
Writers: Sia Furler/Jesse Shatkin (ASCAP)
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

•  Songwriter of the Year
Artist: Sia
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

•  Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Writers: Michael Clifford/Luke Hemmings /Calum Hood/Ashton Irwin (5 Seconds of Summer)
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

•  Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music
Fifa Riccobono

•  Most Played Australian Work
Title: Geronimo
Artist: Sheppard
Writers: Jason Bovino/Amy Sheppard/George Sheppard
Publishers: Mushroom Music Pty Ltd obo Empire of Song

•  Blues & Roots Work of the Year
Title: Heart Beats Slow
Artist: Angus & Julia Stone
Writers: Angus Stone/Julia Stone
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

•  Country Work of the Year
Title: Give Her the World
Artist: Adam Eckersley Band
Writers: Adam Eckersley/Danelle Leverett/Jason Reeves
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

•  Dance Work of the Year
Title: Swing (Joel Fletcher Remix)
Artist: Joel Fletcher feat. Savage
Writers: Joel Fletcher Allan/Demetrius Savelio/Nathan Holmes/Aaron Ngawhika
Publishers: 120 Publishing/Universal Music

•  Pop Work of the Year
Title: Geronimo
Artist: Sheppard
Writers: Jason Bovino/Amy Sheppard/George Sheppard
Publishers: Mushroom Music Pty Ltd obo Empire of Song

•  Rock Work of the Year
Title: Love You Deserve
Artist: Stonefield
Writers: Amy Findlay/Hannah Findlay/Holly Findlay/Sarah Findlay
Publisher: Mushroom Music Pty Ltd

•  Urban Work of the Year
Title: Tightrope
Artist: Illy feat. Scarlett Stevens
Writers: Illy/M-Phazes
Publishers: Mushroom Music Pty Ltd obo WAU Publishing/Mushroom Music

•  Most Played Australian Work Overseas
Title: Somebody That I Used To Know
Artist: Gotye feat. Kimbra
Writers: Wally de Backer/Luiz Bonfa
Publishers: J Albert and Son/Kobalt Music Publishing Australia/Warner/Chappell Music

•  International Work of the Year
Title: Happy
Artist: Pharrell Williams
Writer: Pharrell Williams
Publishers: Universal/MCA Music Publishing obo Universal Pictures Music and Sony/ATV Music Publishing


Stonefield, winners of Rock Work of the Year 
Daniel Johns
Members of Sheppard, winners of most played Australian work and Pop Work of the Year
To Top