Screen Producers Australia Awards: 2016 finalists announced

The Awards are the primary litmus test of industry excellence and the only awards voted by production businesses working in the industry


Screen Producers Australia has announced the finalists in the 16th Screen Producers Australia Awards. The Awards are the primary litmus test of industry excellence, and the only awards voted by production businesses working in the industry.

The Awards recognise excellence in 11 categories of film, television and interactive productions.

The full list of finalists in the Production Awards is:

Children’s Series Production
Bushwhacked! Bugs, Mint Pictures
Exchange Student Zero, Created by Bogan, Produced by Fragrant Gumtree
Mako – Island of Secrets Season 3, Jonathan M Shiff Productions
Ready For This, Werner Film Productions
Tomorrow When the War Began, Ambience Entertainment

Comedy Series Production
Mad As Hell Series 6, ITV Studios Australia
No Activity, Jungle
Please Like Me Season 3, Guesswork Television
Sammy J and Randy in Ricketts Lane, Sticky Pictures
The Family Law, Matchbox Pictures

No Activity 1 1200x600

No Activity

Drama Series Production
Cleverman, Goalpost Pictures
Love Child Series 3, Playmaker Media
Rake Season 4, Essential Media and Entertainment
The Doctor Blake Mysteries Season 4, December Media
Wanted, Matchbox Pictures and R & R Productions
Wentworth Series 4, FremantleMedia Australia

Light Entertainment Series Production
Bondi Rescue Season 11, Cordell Jigsaw Zapruder
Grand Designs Australia Season 6, FremantleMedia Australia
Gruen, Cordell Jigsaw Zapruder
HackLive: Australians On Series, Essential Media and Entertainment
The Weekly with Charlie Pickering, Guesswork Television

Reality Series Production
Dancing With The Stars Series 15, FremantleMedia Australia
I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here!, ITV Studios Australia
The Great Australian Bake Off, FremantleMedia Australia
The Real Housewives of Melbourne Series 3, Matchbox Pictures
The X Factor Series 6, FremantleMedia Australia

Real Housewives of Melbourne 1 1200x600

Real Housewives of Melbourne

Telemovie or Mini Series Production
Barracuda, Matchbox Pictures
Mary: Making of a Princess, FremantleMedia Australia
Secret City, Matchbox Pictures
The Kettering Incident, Porchlight Films and Sweet Potato Films
Wolf Creek, Screentime

Feature Film Production
A Month of Sundays, Madman
Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows, Matchbox Pictures
Spin Out, Stella Rose Productions in association with Redman Entertainment
The Daughter, Jan Chapman Films and Wildflower Films
The Dressmaker, Film Art Media

Series Documentary Production
Afghanistan: Inside Australia’s War, Essential Media and Entertainment
Hitting Home, In Films
Keeping Australia Alive, ITV Studios Australia
Revolution School, Cordell Jigsaw Zapruder
Streets of Your Town, Mint Pictures

Single Documentary Production
Call Me Dad, Media Stockade
Motorkite Dreaming, Intafusion Films
Remembering the Man, Waterbyrd Filmz
Strictly Jewish, Mint Pictures
The Goddam Election! With John Safran, Princess Pictures

Cutting Edge Short Film Production
Kill Your Dinner, Revlover
Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Nightingale and the Rose’, Aquarius Films
Ronny Chieng: International Student, Sticky Pictures
The Future is Expensive, Goalpost Pictures
The Trophy Thief, Arterial Motives

Interactive Production
Little Lunch App, Australian Children’s Television Foundation
VR Noir: A Day Before the Night, Start VR

Screen Producers Australia has also released a Finalists Reel showcasing all 53 productions across each of the 11 film, television and interactive categories, available below.

Voting for the Production Awards is now open for members who are eligible to vote. Voting members will be contacted with information on how to vote. An announcement will be made in the coming months regarding the Individual and Business Awards.

The Award recipients will be revealed at the Screen Producers Australia Awards taking place at Crown Palladium, Melbourne on Thursday 17 November 2016 during the 31st SCREEN FOREVER conference (15-17 November 2016).

To Top