NRPC opens applications for Excellence in Rural Journalism Awards


• Up to $15,000 in prize money on offer across six different categories

The National Rural Press Club (NRPC) has announced the return of the Excellence in Rural Journalism Awards for 2022 recognising the power of great reporting across regional communities and industries. 

Journalists located in Canberra, the NSW South Coast, Yass, Goulburn and the Snowy Mountains as well as other rural journalists are encouraged to apply, with up to $15,000 in prize money on offer across six different categories.  

The NRPC is proud to bring these awards back with increased prize money after a tough few years in regional Australia including the closure of many regional media outlets.

The NRPC encourages debate and discussion and highlights issues affecting rural and regional Australia. It hosts events and conversations to create opportunities for more informed debate and networking on domestic and global issues which affect Australia’s vital rural industries, especially agriculture.

The Club’s President and ABC national regional affairs reporter Lucy Barbour said the awards send a clear message about the importance and calibre of journalism outside capital cities. 

“These awards provide a tremendous opportunity for regional journalists and photojournalists to celebrate their achievements whilst also boosting awareness on issues facing their communities,” she said.

“Great stories deserve a broader audience wherever they’re from. Our sponsors and members are hugely excited to see the return of these awards and bring top rural journalism to a wider audience,” Barbour added.
The awards judging panel will select an overall winner who will be awarded up to $5,000 to attend the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists Congress, drawn from winners of categories including:
Westpac Best News Story Award ($2,000)
Animal Medicines Australia Best Feature Story Award ($2,000)
CropLife Australia Scoop of the Year Award ($2,000)
Case IH Best Photographer of the Year Award ($2,000)
New Edge Microbials Best New Journalist or Cadet Award ($2,000)
Successful applicants and category winners will qualify for the Australian Council for Agricultural Journalists awards in March 2023. Applications close on Friday October 28 2022

To Top