Nine the most awarded media company at 2021 Media i Awards

Media i

This year more than 2000 media agency professionals cast votes

The Media i Awards, recognising media sales excellence, have been announced during a virtual ceremony due to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions.

Voted by peers, the Media i Awards acknowledge the role media sales representatives play in the pursuit of media advertising excellence.

Introduced in 2011, the Media i Awards are the only awards dedicated to recognising the contribution of media owners.

Media i’s Charles Parry-Okeden (left) and Chris Winterburn

Media i’s Charles Parry-Okeden (left) and Chris Winterburn back when they could host in person

Charles Parry-Okeden, CEO Media i, spoke during the ceremony of the challenges faced during the past 18 months and praised the efforts of the media owner fraternity.

“Everyone has been challenged in their own way throughout the past 18 months, but at the same time we have seen individuals and teams adapt and step up in remarkable ways to overcome these challenges. Tonight’s awards are more than ever are about recognising and celebrating those achievements.”

Chris Winterburn, managing director Media I, also lauded this year’s winners.

“We are extremely proud of tonight’s event. Standing here 12 months ago, it would have been almost impossible to imagine that 2021 would remain as challenging as 2020. It certainly has required us all to dig even deeper to navigate what was already an incredibly difficult environment.

“With that in mind, all finalists are to be congratulated on their nomination and should feel tremendous pride in having been recognised by their agency peers as being outstanding at what they do.

“The response from all involved has been overwhelming, reinforcing the significance of this initiative to sales teams and individuals across the country. We would like to congratulate all of tonight’s winners on their fantastic achievement.”

The awards are sponsored by the Media Federation of Australia and returning category sponsors Carat, Hatched Media, Initiative, Kaimera, Mediabrands, OMD, PHD, Starcom, UM, and Zenith

This year saw the 6 team awards presented to sales teams representing four different media channels [Print Media, Outdoor, Digital and Television].

Nine was presented with the National Sales Team of the Year award by MFA CEO Sophie Madden, and MFA Chairman and CEO of Omnicom Group Australia, New Zealand Peter Horgan.

Overall, the awards were hotly contested with Nine the most awarded media company on the night receiving six awards, followed by oOh! Media with four awards, and Network 10 and Spotify with three awards apiece.

Trophies were awarded to 15 different media owner sales organisations throughout the night.

2021 National Sales Team of the Year

2021 Sales Teams Winners List
NSW: Spotify
VIC: Network 10
QLD: News Corp Australia
SA: oOh!media
WA: oOh!media

Sales Representative of the Year (Print Media)
NSW: Simon Cleary, Australian Community Meda
VIC: Tiffany Leahy, Nine
QLD: Nonie Patten, News Corp Australia
SA: Brad Barber, News Corp Australia
WA: Meave Daniels, The West Australian Newspaper

Sales Representative of the Year (Outdoor/Cinema)
NSW: Jack Novak, Val Morgan Cinema
VIC: Warwick Kiel, oOh!Media
QLD: Gillian Black, Val Morgan Cinema
SA: Natasha Jarrett, oOh!Media
WA: Damien Bodestyne, JCDecaux

Sales Representative of the Year (Radio)
NSW: Talya Levine, Nova Entertainment
VIC: Tess McLeod, ARN
QLD: Lauren Everist, ARN
SA: Dan Muscat, Nova Entertainment
WA: Emma Fry, Southern Cross Austereo

Sales Representative of the Year (Digital)
NSW: Annie Hugo, Spotify
VIC: Hamish Ward,
QLD: Madison Wappett, MiQ
SA: Mark Bachetti, Nine
WA: Sebastian Tatur, Yahoo

Sales Representative of the Year (Television)
NSW: Dean Bishop, Nine
VIC: Joshua Hale, Network Ten
QLD: Jayne Balke, Network Ten
SA: Stephanie Rose, Nine
WA: Natasha Twentyman, Nine

See also: Nine most-awarded company at 2020 Media i Awards, 10 & News next

To Top