More media greats inducted into Australian Media Hall of Fame

They include TV legends Ray Martin and Geraldine Doogue.

Another 48 greats of national journalism have been inducted into the Australian Media Hall of Fame.

An induction event took place in Melbourne on Friday night. The event completed the national foundation of the Media Hall of Fame – a decade-long project of the Melbourne Press Club.

They include world-famous war cameramen Neil Davis and David Brill, TV legends Ray Martin and Geraldine Doogue, magazine queen Dulcie Boling, Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Pat Oliphant and groundbreaking Aboriginal journalist John Newfong.

Also honoured was the celebrated former political editor of The Age and The Australian, Michael Gordon, a champion of social justice journalism who died suddenly in February this year.

Launched in Victoria in 2012, the Media Hall of Fame last year expanded to include NSW. This year’s inductees include greats from Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania and the territories.

The Australian Media Hall of Fame seeks to demonstrate the importance and public benefit of journalism in the face of threats from digital disruption and political interference.

“The achievements of these extraordinary men and women show the abiding importance of great journalism for our democracy and why we should celebrate and defend it,” Melbourne Press Club CEO Mark Baker said.

The Advisory Panel for this year’s nominations was former editor of The Age Michael Smith, former editor-in-chief of The Australian Chris Mitchell, media historian Bridget Griffen-Foley of Macquarie University and Mike Bowers, photographer-at-large for The Guardian.

The full list of November 2018 inductees:

• Joe Alexander
• Bert Lillye
• Charles Bean
• Douglas Lockwood
• Dulcie Boling
• Hugh Lunn
• Jim Bowditch
• Catherine Martin
• Ted Bray
• Ray Martin
• David Brill
• Ken May
• Charmian Clift
• Keith McDonald
• Bob Cronin
• Maxine McKew
• James Cruthers
• Bill Mitchell
• Gay Davidson
• Paul Murray
• Neil Davis
• John Newfong
• Geraldine Doogue
• Pat Oliphant
• Shirley Stott Despoja
• Andrew Olle
• John B Fairfax
• Steve Pennells
• Ian Fitchett
• Alan Reid
• Peter Game
• Paul Rigby
• Michael Gordon
• Gerard Ryle
• Max Harris
• Howard Sattler
• Derryn Hinch
• John Silvester
• Les Hinton
• Trevor Sykes
• Adelie Hurley
• Hedley Thomas
• Ken Inglis
• Jack Waterford
• George Johnston
• Don Whitington
• Tony Koch
• Marian Wilkinson

To Top