Inside the GQ Men of the Year Awards 2017 + full winners list

This was Michael Christensen’s first awards night as GQ Australia editor

The result from the same-sex postal survey revealed yesterday was the number-one talking point at the 11th annual GQ Men of the Year Awards held last night.

As LGBTI supporters celebrated the 61.6% “yes” vote for same-sex marriage, award-winners and presenters at the awards held at The Star acknowledged it as an historical event. Foreign Minister Julie Bishop (who was in attendance) was called on several times from the stage to urge the government to make change as soon as possible.

Julie Bishop and partner David Panton at the awards

Powerful figures who are outspoken supporters of LGBTI rights like Qantas CEO Alan Joyce, comedian Joel Creasey and Olympian Ian Thorpe all spoke about what the change meant to them and the wider community. Thorpe delivered a speech about the survey outcome and his journey of coming out as a gay man, which received a standing ovation from the crowd.

The positive result is also a blessing in disguise for GQ Australia, joked its editor-in-chief and News Corp’s prestige and lifestyle director Nick Smith. “[If it had gone the other way] 25% of our readers would have left the country,” he said.

Australian actor Daniel MacPherson, who had flown in from LA for the event, hosted the evening. He has previously hosted the awards night two years ago. “They just seem to get bigger and bigger,” MacPherson said.

This was Michael Christensen’s first awards night as GQ Australia editor.

GQ Australia editor Michael Christensen and News Corp chief digital officer Nicole Sheffield

The red carpet for the award was scheduled to begin at 6pm. The proceedings began just before 7:40pm with a cabaret-style performance. The 19 awards were spread between the entrée and main course. The dessert came out before the after-party, which started just before 11pm. Paul Mac and the band provided the music during the awards ceremony.

The night was attended by international heavy-hitters like Ansel Elgort, Travis FimmelAmber Heard and Jon Kortajarena, as well as local guests including surfer Mick Fanning, rapper Adam Briggs, actors Asher Keddie and Elizabeth DebickiToday’s Karl Stefanovic and Richard Wilkins, News Corp’s Nick Smith and Nicole Sheffield, Vogue Australia’s Edwina McCann, delicious.’s Kerrie McCallum,’s Melissa Hoyer, Nova’s Fitzy and Wippa, Ten’s Angela Bishop and more.

Presented by Audi, supporting partners of the 2017 GQ Men of the Year Awards were Bvlgari, Emporio Armani Sounds, Patrón Tequila, Qantas and The Star.

Ansel Elgort and partner Violetta Komyshan at the awards

11th GQ Men of the Year Awards winners

Solo Artist of the Year Flume

International Icon Jeff Goldblum

Man of Style A$AP Rocky

Woman of the Year in association with Bvlgari Amber Heard

International Sensation in association with Audi Ansel Elgort

Model of the Year Jon Kortajarena

The GQ Legacy Award in association with Bvglari Heath Ledger Scholarship

Sportsman of the Year Jeff Horn

Man of Innovation in association with Audi Hayden Cox

Business Leader of the Year in association with Audi Alan Joyce

Actor of the Year in association with QANTAS Travis Fimmel

Breakthrough Actor of the Year in association with Patrón KJ Apa

International Designer of the Year in association with Patrón Virgil Abloh

Australian Designer of the Year Lukas Vincent

Band of the Year Client Liaison

Director of the Year Taika Waititi

Creative Force in association with The Star Luke Davies

Agenda Setter in association with Patrón Adam Briggs

Social Force Hello Sunday Morning

To Top