delicious. Produce Awards: 15 trophies, 37 gold medals to Australia’s finest

• Fifteen trophies and 37 gold medals were presented

The winners of 2018 delicious. Produce Awards were announced overnight at a gala event at QT Sydney.

Some of Australia’s renowned chefs and food industry personalities joined the delicious. team and finalists at the annual ceremony.

Fifteen trophies and 37 gold medals were presented, plus one highly commended mention. Each of the state winners across the four major categories (From the Dairy, From the Earth, From the Paddock and From the Sea) were judged by the National Judging Panel, and considered for the overall Producer of the Year Award. This was awarded to Carla Meurs and Ann-Marie Monda of Holy Goat Cheese.

The National Judging Panel for the awards comprises MasterChef’s Shannon Bennett, Family Food Fight’s Matt Moran, chef Andrew McConnell, author and food manufacturer Maggie Beer, Quay Restaurant’s Peter Gilmore, chef and author Christine Manfield, My Kitchen RulesColin Fassnidge, Lake House’s Alla Wolf-Tasker, Dinner by Heston London executive chef Ashley Palmer-Watts and Bistro Guillaume head chef Guillaume Brahimi.

delicious. editor-in-chief Kerrie McCallum said: “With sustainability on the agenda more than ever right now, we are delighted that the delicious. Produce Awards serve to shine a light on trailblazing producers and artisans who are finding innovative ways to grow and raise not only some of the consistently best-tasting produce, but produce that is both seasonal and sustainable. Congratulations to all our winners and gold medallists.”

delicious. Produce Awards ambassador and national judge Matt Moran said: “It is always a privilege and honour to be a part of the delicious. Produce Awards National Judging Panel. Every year we are blown away by the standard of produce being grown and raised around this bountiful country that really lays the foundation for our world-class food industry. This year, it was wonderful to see some innovative new winners, together with some of the most consistently year-on-year extraordinary produce, like, of course, our worthy Producer of the Year, Holy Goat Cheese.”

The thirteenth annual delicious. Produce Awards was a VIP event and Matt Preston was emcee for the evening. Guests were treated to a menu of canapés created by the QT Sydney team inspired by 2018 winners’ and gold medallists’ produce, with drinks from Qantas Wine.

The full list of winners and gold medallists appears in the September issue of delicious. on sale Thursday August 16 and on


delicious. Produce awards 2018 gold medallists and trophy winners


From The Dairy – Gold Medallists

• Country Valley Natural Yoghurt NSW
• Elgaar Farm Fresh Organic Milk Tas
• Meredith Dairy Cultured Goat Milk Vic
• Pecora Dairy Yarrawa NSW
• Schulz Organic Dairy Organic Full Cream Milk Vic
• Shaw River Buffalo Cheese Annie Baxter Special Reserve Vic
• The Dairyman Barossa Farm Cream SA
• Tongola Cheese Tongola Zoe Tas

From The Dairy – Trophy Winner

• Holy Goat Cheese Nectar Tomme Vic

From The Earth – Gold Medallists

• Black Barley Australia by pharmfarm WA
• Li Sun Exotic Mushrooms NSW
• Moojepin Foods Baby Pigface WA
• Newcastle Greens Calvin Lamborn Snap Green Varietals 
• Parkesbourne Produce Rainbow Raspberries NSW
• Perfectly Pressed Fermented Shiraz Grapeseed Oil Vic
• Randall Organic Rice Freshly Milled Brown Kyeema 
Jasmine Rice NSW
• Skybury Tropical Plantation Sweet Red Papaya Qld
• The Lime Caviar Company Finger Limes Qld
• Wellington Apiary Leatherwood Pure Tasmanian Honey Tas

From The Earth – Trophy Winner

• Moonacres Farm Seasonal Fresh Produce NSW

From The Paddock – Gold Medallists

• Camden Valley Veal Milk-fed and Pastured Veal NSW
• Eugowra Pastured Quail NSW
• McIvor Farm Foods Berkshire Pork Vic
• Papanui Open Range Eggs NSW
• Redleaf Farm Free-range Suckling Pig NSW
• Schultz Family Farms Whole Suckling Pig Qld
• The Farm House Margaret River Arkady Lamb WA
• Torello Veal Rosé Veal NSW
 Yeringberg Lamb Vic

From The Paddock – Trophy Winner

• Mayura Station Full-blood Wagyu SA

From The Sea – Gold Medallists

• Butson Fisheries Wild Caught Gulf St Vincent Garfish SA
• Clean Seas Seafood Spencer Gulf Hiramasa Kingfish SA
• Ironbark Redclaw Freshwater Crayfish Qld
• Murray Gold Australia Murray Cod NSW
• Matt Vickers & Shane Royan Cape York Wild Barramundi Qld
• Perkins Fisheries SA King George Whiting SA
• Pilu Bottarga di Muggine NSW
• Tathra Oysters Nelson Lake 5 Year Old Sydney Rock 
Oysters NSW
• Two Gulfs Crab Blue Swimmer Crab SA
• Yarra Valley Caviar Smoked Salmon Pearls Vic

From The Sea – Trophy Winner

• Mark Eather Iki-jime Coral Trout NT

Best New Product – Trophy Winner

• Black Barley Australia by pharmfarm

WA Producer Of The Year – Trophy Winner

• Carla Meurs & Ann-Marie Monda, Holy Goat Cheese

Vic In The Bottle, Presented By Qantas Wine – Trophy Winner

• Wildflower Brewing & Blending NSW

Outstanding Design, Presented By Qt Hotels & Resorts – Trophy Winner


Outstanding Farmers’ Market – Finalists

• Slow Food Melbourne Farmers’ Market at Abbotsford Convent Vic

• Margaret River Farmers’ Market WA

• Willunga Farmers Market SA

Outstanding Farmers’ Market – Trophy Winner

• Margaret River Farmers’ Market WA

Outstanding Region – Trophy Winner

• Mornington Peninsula Vic

Outstanding Innovation, Presented By Miele – Trophy Winner

• Fair Fish SA

Outstanding Innovation, Presented By Miele – Highly Commended

• Two Gulfs Crab SA

Unearthed Next Gen Chef
– Trophy Winner

• Ali Currey-Voumard, The Agrarian Eatery & Store Tas

Outstanding Native Producer – Trophy Winner

• Something Wild Australia SA

Outstanding Artisan – Trophy Winner

• Pilu Bottarga di Muggine NSW

The Alla Wolf-Tasker Good Food Matters delicious. Produce Awards Scholarship 2018

• Burrawong Gaian Poultry NSW

Maggie Beer Award For Outstanding Contribution To Australia

• Alla Wolf-Tasker

Top Photo: Shannon Bennett, Matt Moran, Andrew McConnell, Maggie Beer, Peter Gilmore, Christine Manfield, Alla Wolf Tasker, Colin Fassnidge, Ashley Palmer-Watts


Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.

Most Popular

To Top