Broadcasting greats McGuire and McAvaney reunite for AFL State of Origin

Footy media unites for Bushfire Relief

• Fox Footy and Seven commentary teams unite for AFL Bushfire Relief match at 7.30pm AEDT on Friday, February 28

Australian broadcasting icons Eddie McGuire and Bruce McAvaney will join forces on-air for the first time in more than 30 years as the Fox Footy and Seven commentary teams come together to call the State of Origin for Bushfire Relief match on Friday, February 28.

Footy fans are in for a special treat next Friday night when State of Origin football is revived for the first time since 2008, with McGuire and McAvaney set to work on their first match together since 1987’s infamous Battle of Britain encounter between North Melbourne and Carlton.

HOLD SUNDAY HERALD SUN—– Eddie McGuire and Bruce McAvaney to promote the Big V.
FOX FOOTY and Channel 7 are combining forces for State of Origin bushfire game on 28th Feb by joining commentary teams.
Picture: Alex Coppel.

Dustin Martin, Nat Fyfe, Patrick Cripps, Brodie Grundy, Marcus Bontempelli and Jeremy Cameron are among the host of superstars poised to grace Marvel Stadium when Victoria does battle with the All-Stars live on both channels.

As the football industry unites to raise funds for communities in fire-affected areas, Fox Footy and Seven will field a joint commentary team for the State of Origin clash, with Fox Footy’s McGuire, Anthony Hudson, Nick Riewoldt, Jonathan Brown, Katherine Loughnan and Cameron Mooney joined by Seven’s McAvaney, Brian Taylor, Luke Hodge, Daisy Pearce, Gilbert McAdam and Cameron Ling joining.

McGuire and McAvaney will cross live to Mooney and Ling at Mallacoota’s local pub where they will be joined by fans uniting in the midst of the recent devastating fires.

The night of history-making footy kicks off when Collingwood takes on Melbourne in the 2020 NAB AFLW Women’s Competition match up at 5.30pm AEDT on Fox Footy.

Tickets are available through Ticketmaster, with all proceeds going to the AFL’s Community Relief Fund. Donations to the Fund can also be made at asf.org.au/donate/afl-community-bushfire-relief-fund.


Broadcast times

State of Origin for Bushfire Relief match
Victoria v All-Stars (Marvel Stadium)

TV Broadcast times on Seven:
Friday February 28

Sydney 7mate 7.30pm
Melbourne Seven 7.30pm
Brisbane 7mate 6.30pm
Adelaide Seven 7pm
Perth 7mate 4.30pm

TV Broadcast times on Fox Footy:
Friday February 28

Melbourne 5.30pm
Sydney 5.30pm
Brisbane 4.30pm
Adelaide 5.00pm
Perth 2.30pm

Subscribe to the Mediaweek Morning Report with the form below.




Most Popular

To Top