AFR duo receives Graham Perkin 2023 Australian Journalist of the Year Award

Plus Code Sports reporter named 2023 Harry Gordon Sports Journalist of The Year.

Both the Journalist of the Year Award and the Sports Journalist of The Year Award were presented as part of the Quill Awards.

Graham Perkin 2023 Australian Journalist of the Year Award

Winner: Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros, of The Australian Financial Review for coverage of the PwC Tax Leaks Scandal

Judges’ citation:
In a story that dominated the news cycle last year, Edmund Tadros and Neil Chenoweth exposed how senior figures at PwC leaked confidential Treasury documents to drum up tax business for the firm. The revelations led to the break-up of the accounting giant, the departure of the CEO and the biggest crackdown on misconduct by tax advisors in Australian history. Tadros and Chenoweth displayed true courage and determination in pursuing various leads, including how governments had become far too reliant on the work of the big consulting firms. It is truly memorable and excellent journalism in the fine Graham Perkin tradition.

PwC partner leaked government tax plans to clients‘, Australian Financial Review, 23 January 2023

“For your eyes only”: How PwC leaks helped global clients dodge tax‘, Australian Financial Review, 3 May 2023

The inside story of PwC’s tax scandal‘, Australian Financial Review, 5 May 2023

Panic at PwC: How a tax scandal played out behind closed doors‘,  Australian Financial Review, 12 May 2023

“The dog that didn’t bark”: Where was the ATO in the PwC mess?‘,  Australian Financial Review, 2 June 2023

Neil Chenoweth
Top: Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros


Stephanie March, ABC, for outstanding coverage of global affairs.

Kate McClymont, The Sydney Morning Herald, for her extensive coverage of indecent assault claims against broadcaster Alan Jones.

Nick McKenzie, of The Age, for his consistent agenda-setting reporting.

Harry Gordon Sports Journalist of The Year Award recipient Linda Pearce

The 2023 Harry Gordon Sports Journalist of The Year Award

Winner: Linda Pearce, of Code Sports, for her series on the demise of the Collingwood netball club

Judges’ citation:
Linda’s compelling series on the failure of the Collingwood netball club revealed the dysfunction at the heart of the famous football club’s foray into women’s netball.

Through a series of interviews with former coaches, players and administrators, Linda’s deep-dive exposed the personalities and issues besetting the club, foreshadowing its ultimate withdrawal from the league.

She used the digital format to great effect, to engage and build an audience, expertly crafting the long-form stories.

Her commitment to keeping a watching brief on the troubled leadership and division at Netball Australia also led her to write with clarity and authority about the challenges confronting the organisation after the tumultuous exit of its CEO.

Inside the dysfunctional birth of Collingwood netball, 16 May 2023

‘A disaster’: How powerful Pies fell to the brink of oblivion, 17 May 2023

‘We’re the big guys’: How footy hubris hobbled Pies, 20 May 2023

Shambles’: How SSN saga drained Shimona’s hope and motivation, 11 September 2023

WHY NA board should follow Ryan in full netball reset, 12 December 2023


Michael Gleeson, of The Age, for an outstanding portfolio of news, features and analysis.

Jake Niall, of The Age, for a range of stories demonstrating versatility and a capacity to tackle difficult topics.

Tom Decent, of The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age, for his coverage of Wallaby coach Eddie Jones’ secret job interview with Japan before the World Cup.

See also: Melbourne Press Club reveals winners of 29th Quill Awards

To Top