AACTA Nominated Stan Original Film Nitram now available to stream


• Nitram depicts the events leading up to one of the darkest chapters in Australian history

Stan has announced the Stan Original Film Nitram is now streaming.

Nitram depicts the events leading up to one of the darkest chapters in Australian history in an attempt to understand why and how this atrocity occurred, and seeks to further the global discussion on gun control.

In the film, Nitram (Caleb Landry Jones) lives with his mother (Judy Davis) and father (Anthony LaPaglia) in suburban Australia in the mid-1990s. He lives a life of isolation and frustration at never being able to fit in. That is until he unexpectedly finds a close friend in a reclusive heiress, Helen (Essie Davis). However, when that friendship meets its tragic end, and Nitram’s loneliness and anger grow, he begins a slow descent into a nightmare that culminates in the most nihilistic and heinous of acts.

Directed by Justin Kurzel (Stan Original Film True History of the Kelly Gang, Snowtown) and written by Shaun Grant (Penguin Bloom, Snowtown), the film stars Caleb Landry Jones (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Get Out), Essie Davis (The Babadook, Stan Original Film True History of the Kelly Gang), Judy Davis (My Brilliant Career, The Dressmaker) and Anthony LaPaglia (Lantana, Balibo).

Nitram screened in Official Selection for Competition at the 2021 Cannes Film Festival in July and was the first Australian film to compete for the Palme D’Or in a decade, with Caleb Landry Jones recognised with Best Actor honours at the festival for his performance. 

Nitram was awarded the CinefestOZ Film Prize in August, in addition to being selected for competition at this year’s BFI London Film Festival. The film was also honoured with 15 nominations at the 2021 AACTA Awards, including Best Film, Best Direction for director Justin Kurzel, Best Lead Actor for Caleb Landry Jones, Best Lead Actress for Judy Davis, Best Supporting Actor for Anthony LaPaglia, Best Supporting Actress for Essie Davis and Best Original Screenplay for writer Shaun Grant.

To Top