2020 Art Music Awards winners announced by APRA AMCOS

• The Awards are resented annually by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre

The 2020 Art Music Awards have been celebrated in a virtual ceremony fit for a creative nation, with winning artists and organisations spanning the country.
Presented annually by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre (AMC), the Awards acknowledge the achievements of composers, performers and educators in the genres of contemporary classical music, jazz, improvisation, sound art and experimental music. The 2020 Awards included several new and restructured categories, in tune with the constantly evolving art music landscape. 

The inaugural National Luminary Award for an Individual, for sustained contribution over several years, was presented to Dharug composer Chris Sainsbury for initiating and driving the Ngarra-Burria: First Nations Composers program, a critically important project. According to the judging panel: “Chris’ work over the past five years has had a national impact in both training emerging First Nations composers and redefining their role and future within Australian art music.” 

The 10th annual Art Music Awards were co-hosted by Jonathan BigginsDr Lou Bennett AM and Zela Margossian, with performances by Robin Fox & Erkki VeltheimLouise Devenish & Thea RossenLinda May Han Oh with Fabian Almazan & Ben VanderwalMelanie Mununggurr-Williams and Beatrice Lewis. The performance program was curated by Barney McAll


Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music
Dr Ros Bandt

Award for Excellence in Music Education
Netanela Mizrahi and Guwanbal Gurruwiwi for the Djari Project

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area
Gillian Howell and Tura New Music for the Fitzroy Valley New Music Project

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music
The Music Box Project for Shallow Listening

Work of the Year: Choral
Title: I am Martuwarra
Composer: Paul Stanhope, text by Steve Hawke
Performer: Gondwana Choirs, Luminescence Chamber Singers, Valla Voices,
Hunter Singers, and Resonance and Lyn Williams, conductor

Work of the Year: Chamber Music
Title: passing bells: day
Composer: Chris Dench
Performer: Alex Raineri

Work of the Year: Large Ensemble
Title: Viola Concerto
Composer: James Ledger
Performer: Brett Dean, West Australian Symphony Orchestra
and Fabien Gabel, conductor

Work of the Year: Electroacoustic/Sound Art
Title: Everywhen
Composer: Matthias Schack-Arnott
Performer: Matthias Schack-Arnott

Work of the Year: Dramatic
Title: Oscar and Lucinda
Composer: Elliott Gyger, librettist Pierce Wilcox
Performer: Sydney Chamber Opera and Jack Symonds, conductor

Title: Speechless
Composer: Cat Hope
Performer: Judith Dodsworth, Karina Utomo, Caitlin Cassidy,
Sage Pbbbt (soloists), with Australian Bass Orchestra,
Decibel New Music Ensemble and Aaron Wyatt, conductor

Work of the Year: Jazz
Title: Aventurine
Composer: Linda May Han Oh
Performer: Linda May Han Oh, Greg Ward, Matt Mitchell,
Ches Smith, Fung Chern Hwei, Sara Caswell, Benni von Gutzeit,
Jeremy Harman, Invenio with Gian Slater, director

Performance of the Year: Notated Composition
Performer: Louise Devenish
Title: Sheets of Sound
Composers: Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh, Matthias Schack-Arnott,
Louise Devenish and Stuart James

Performance of the Year: Jazz/Improvised Music
Performer: Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal, Aneesh Pradhan
and Sirens Big Band
Title: Bridge of Dreams
Composer: Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal and Aneesh Pradhan

Luminary Awards: National

Chris Sainsbury for initiating and driving Ngarra-Burria: First Peoples Composers program

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra for Australian Composers School, Australian Conducting Academy, and professional development opportunities for Australian musicians
Luminary Awards: State/Territory

Australian Capital Territory
Canberra International Music Festival for their record-breaking 2019 event and ongoing reputation for high quality and innovative programming

New South Wales
Joanna Drimatis for sustained contribution to the performance, programming and advocacy of Australian works, and string music education

South Australia
Ross McHenry for trailblazing global pathways through artistic practice for South Australian musicians

Northern Territory
David Wilfred & Daniel Wilfred for cultural leadership and sustained creative contributions in Australia and beyond

Western Australia
Louise Devenish for her ongoing advocacy, commissioning and performance of new percussion music in Western Australia

Making Waves for breaking down perceived state barriers and connecting a new generation of Australian musicians

Michael Kieran Harvey for supporting the Tasmanian new music community through teaching, performance and recording

Katie Noonan for The Glad Tomorrow and furthering the future of Queensland musicians

To Top