2015 ASTRA Industry Excellence Awards

Television stars behind the scenes shine at ASTRA Industry Excellence Awards

The people  that ASTRA CEO Andrew Maiden called “subscription television’s unsung heroes” were honoured at an intimate ceremony at Sydney’s Simmer on the Bay last night. The 9th annual awards, which included three new categories, were presented in recognition of achievement in marketing, public relations, advertising, social media and promotion in the subscription television industry in Australia.

Maiden said: “The awards shine a light on the creative brains that drive subscription television. They are people whose talent and enterprise make subscription television so distinctive, original and creative”.

MTV’s Kate Peck (pictured) hosted a short ceremony, with award presenters including Steve Liebmann from The History Channel and SKY NEWS, FOX SPORTS’ Matt Shirvington, actors Craig Hall and Sara Wiseman from SoHo’s A Place to Call Home and Foxtel CEO Richard Freudenstein. The best moment from the ceremony was when Fox Footy’s award was announced, with a disclaimer from Shirvo that unfortunately a delayed plane meant the channel’s promo producer Tim Buhagiar wouldn’t make it… but he arrived at the last minute, threw his luggage on the ground and jumped onto the stage. The famous ASTRA lolly bar was another crowd pleaser.

The winners are:
•  Creative Professional of the Year: ​Dan Aldridge​ (BBC)
•  Rising Star: Abdel Moorhouse (Foxtel Arts)
•  Television Professional of the Year: ​Geoff Crane​ (SKY NEWS Australia)
•  Most Outstanding Campaign Under $50,000:​ Gogglebox Australia​– ​‘Gogglebox Yourself’
•  Most Outstanding Use of Innovation: Selling Houses Australia – ‘Social Editions’
•  Most Outstanding Social Media Campaign: Selling Houses Australia – ‘Social Editions’
•  Most Outstanding Off­-Air Promotion: ​‘Game of Thrones Season 5’ (showcase)
•  Most Outstanding On-­Air Promotion:​ ‘Fox Footy–2015 Season Launch’ ​(FOXFOOTY)
•  Most Outstanding PR Campaign: SLIMEFEST 2014 (Nickelodeon)
•  Most Outstanding Advertising Campaign: ‘Defence Force Recruiting’ for The Recruit season one

Photo: ASTRA CEO Andrew Maiden, host Kate Peck and Foxtel CEO Richard Freudenstein with individual winners Dan Aldridge, Abdel Moorhouse and Geoff Crane

To Top