TV Guide: ICC Cricket World Cup Australia v Sri Lanka on Nine

Australia cricket team

Australia and Sri Lanka are both looking to claim their first victory in the ICC Cricket World Cup following losses in the opening two rounds.

The high-stakes match will take place at Ekana Stadium in Lucknow, India. The coin toss takes happens at 7pm and the first ball is at 7:30 pm AEDT. The game will air live on Nine, 9Now, Fox Cricket and Kayo.

Every Australia game and every finals game will be available on Nine and 9Now, with every game of the tournament available on Fox Cricket (Channel 501) and Kayo Sports across the six weeks of One Day International cricket. 

Australia is tipped to beat Sri Lanka, as they are currently on a six-match winning streak against the team. 

In light of their recent losses, Australia has swapped out their wicketkeepers with Josh Inglis replacing Alex Carey. Allrounder Cameron Green will also be changed for Marcus Stoinis.

Josh Inglis. Instagram.

On the Sri Lanka side, Kusal Mendis will step up from vice-captain to captain, following captain Dasun Shanaka’s injury in their round two game against Pakistan. The popular player has been ruled out for the rest of the World Cup.

Australian allrounder Mitch Marsh told reporters in Lucknow on Saturday: “We know exactly what’s in front of us, we’re really clear on that now.”

“It’s been tough. We’ve been behind the game for a lot of time in the first two games but that shouldn’t deter us from what we’re about as a team so hopefully everyone sees that.

“A lot of Australian teams when they’re backed into a corner play their best cricket. We find ourselves in a corner early on in this tournament, but we’ve got to come out and put on a really good performance against Sri Lanka.”

Mitch Marsh. Cricket Australia.

The lineups:

Australia: Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (captain), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne

To Top