Australian Podcast Awards reveal the finalists for 2022

Australian Podcast Awards

Winners will be announced on Monday, 21st November, at the Seymour Theatre in Sydney

The Australian Podcast Awards, powered by iHeart, has revealed its finalists for 2022 – unveiling a list of the country’s top podcasts, podcasting moments and talent across 33 categories.

A cast of industry judges worked on naming the contenders for the country’s top podcasts, spanning a diverse range of categories from True Crime and Current Affairs, Comedy and Sport, and Documentary and Sex & Relationships.

Finalists include well-known podcasts, such as Brittany Hockley and Laura Byrne’s Hooked, Hitched & Hung Up, Osher Günsberg’s DadPod, and Sandra Sully’s Short Black, as well as indie favourites, such as Flex & Froomes, She’s on the Money and 7AM.

Category winners will be announced at an in-person event on Monday, 21st November at the Seymour Theatre in Sydney, hosted by Mitch Churi, ACRA Award winning host of The Night Show on the KIIS Network. Winners of each category will also be in the running to win the prestigious iHeart Podcast of the Year Award.

Australian Podcast Awards

Mitch Churi

Churi said: “Australia truly does lead the pack on a global scale in terms of original, entertaining podcast content and in my opinion is the future of Australian media, so I’m so thrilled they have asked a Radio personality to host the event.

“Jokes aside, I’m thrilled to be hosting this year’s Australian Podcast Awards and help uncover and celebrate the best of the best in the Aussie Podcast industry – Its going to be a great night!”

Matt Deegan, director at the Australian Podcast Awards, said: “Every year we’re amazed by the talent and creativity coming through the Australian Podcast Awards.

“This year’s list represents the best of the best, and it’s encouraging to see both industry heavyweights and fierce independents rising to the top. We can’t wait for the final awards to be announced in November.”

The final category – the Listeners’ Choice Award, supported by LiSTNR, is now open for the public to make their choice known. All Australian podcasts are eligible and anyone can vote at

The voting closes on Tuesday 15th November at 23:59 AEDT.

To Top